So many problems.... so little time

Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
Motorcycle: 1984 1200 goldwing

So many problems.... so little time

Postby grains » Wed Oct 05, 2011 9:54 pm

Hello. this is the third time that I have done a new topic and am very thankful to have so many people who have been able to help me out.
First, I am still relatively new to the 84 Goldwing that I bought in the spring. and am still trying to get used to it. All has been well so far but there is a couple of things that I still want to check into before the white stuff falls.
First. When I have been riding, especially around town, the temp seems to rise too hi. Now, what I think is hi, and I'm not sure that I am explaining right. But the temp. goes 2 bars above the single vertical line on my gauge and into the double line. (Hope I am explaining right) Is this too hot? I have not heard the fans kick on. Which leads me to the next question. Where is the Temp switch which turns on these fans? I know that there I can test the fans and switch.
Second. Where are the 3 yellow wires that come from the stator? Supposedly the stator was changed 3 years before I bought the bike in the spring, but I would like to look at these wires to see if they need attention.
Third. When riding all seems well but when I do a slow turn, it seems to have a wobble in the forks. Now, when I bought the bike, the fork seals were leaking. So a friend and I pulled the forks and changed them. The seal on the left fork lasted about a week and 2 rides before it profusely failed. So I bought another fork off of ebay, replaced the seal in it and put it in. Now I can't honestly say whether the wobble was there before or not but it Kinda concerns me. I have put the bike on the center stand and shook the forks, front to back and side to side and didn't really find any loose bearings So any ideas?
Thank you all in advance for your help.

Motorcycle: 1985 gl1200a