Speedometer stop working


Information and questions on GL1200 Goldwings (1984-1987)
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
wingnit
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 4:59 pm
Location: Metairie, Louisiana
Motorcycle: 1987 Interstate
Contact:

Speedometer stop working

Postby wingnit » Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:23 pm



I road with the local chapter this weekend and as I was riding I heard this loud winding noise that would come and go. Didn't know where it was coming from but it only happened when I was moving. Finally it stop making the noise and about 5 minutes later I noticed that the speedometer was not working. I figured the cable was giving out and that is what all the noise was. My question is replace the whole cable or is there a gear that needs to be changed? Also is this a major job and does the front nose need to be removed? :cry:
Thanks



User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7652
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Speedometer stop working

Postby virgilmobile » Mon Jan 16, 2012 7:53 am

Start by removing the cable from the spedo ,get the front wheel off the ground a little and turn the wheel.See if the cable turns.Then pull the cable from the "gearbox" on the axle, turn the wheel and look at the drive mechanism.This will tell what parts need to be serviced/replaced.
And no,you don't need to remove the faring to get to the spedo.

User avatar
tech1
Posts: 181
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:21 pm
Location: East Moline IL
Motorcycle: 1986 Goldwing 1200 SE-i Aspencade
2009 audo comfort
GL1800

Re: Speedometer stop working

Postby tech1 » Sat Jan 28, 2012 10:55 pm

check the drive ring it is has two tangs that engage the wheel and will bend back in turn inop speedo. Mine did.
You will have to remove the front wheel and remove the drive to check the tanged drive washer. I bought a new one before diagnoseing it so I had one on hand. BUT all I a had to do was rebend and shape the drive tangs and make sure it was free. and works good again.
Good luck


Return to “GL1200 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo Slurp [Bot] and 3 guests