1993 GL1500 Aspencade cruise control problem


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
Gilbert Draayers
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:13 pm
Location: Oostburg, Wisconsin
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500A Aspencade

1993 GL1500 Aspencade cruise control problem

Postby Gilbert Draayers » Thu Mar 22, 2012 7:21 pm



This is my first post. My cruise control will no longer set at any speeds in 4th or 5th gears . When I push the cruise on button the cruise light works, but nothing happens when I press the set button. I have replaced the clutch lever bushing and the clutch and front brake switches do click. I have sprayed them with contact cleaner and also the set/accelerate switch has been sprayed. Both the cruise on and cruise set dash lights come on when I first turn the key. Pushing out on both hand levers doesn't help. The brake light is not always on, so I don't think the brakes are dragging. A check list I found on goldwingworld.com says the first thing to check is that you have power to the cruise contol unit by using a volt/ohm meter to check connections in the 22 pin connector under the seat. It says to connect the red probe to pin #17 and the black probe to ground. With the key and cruise both on you should get a 12 volt reading. I do not get any voltage showing when making this connection, and the check list doesn't say how to trouble shoot this. I had the brakes bled two years ago at a Honda dealer, and I think that is when the problem started though I am not sure. I don't use the cruise very often because I do have a throttle lock. The fuse for the circuit is good. Does anyone have any idea as to how to trouble shoot the missing 12 volts? Thanks, Gib.



User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7663
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: 1993 GL1500 Aspencade cruise control problem

Postby virgilmobile » Thu Mar 22, 2012 8:10 pm

One thing missed is the vacuum system.I'm not sure about the 93,but my 88 has multiple vacuum lines that operate it.Start on the left side at the manifold,there are 2 vacuum lines there.The accumulator is on the right side.All under the plastic obviously.

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: 1993 GL1500 Aspencade cruise control problem

Postby WingAdmin » Thu Mar 22, 2012 9:06 pm

Another is the speedometer signal coming off the speedometer. If the bike doesn't see sufficient speed, it won't allow the cruise to engage.

Bigert
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 2:45 pm
Location: Angelholm, Skane Lan, Sweden
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500 Aspencade

Re: 1993 GL1500 Aspencade cruise control problem

Postby Bigert » Sat Jun 14, 2014 5:53 pm

I tried to fix same cruise controle on a 1992 model. It looks like I used the same documents from goldwingdocs.com and I noticed that the the pinout in the description was wrong, but the wire-colors was right.
Im still working to get this cruise to "set". Did You find a solution?

jack5
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 3:04 pm
Location: Canada
Motorcycle: 1990 GL 1500

Re: 1993 GL1500 Aspencade cruise control problem

Postby jack5 » Sat Jun 14, 2014 10:56 pm

when did you replaced the cruise control valve filter. when the filter getting to old it falling apart and go to the valve and plug some vaccum lines.

Bigert
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 2:45 pm
Location: Angelholm, Skane Lan, Sweden
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500 Aspencade

Re: 1993 GL1500 Aspencade cruise control problem

Postby Bigert » Sun Jun 15, 2014 4:31 am

jack5 wrote:when did you replaced the cruise control valve filter. when the filter getting to old it falling apart and go to the valve and plug some vaccum lines.


I followed the steps of Gilbert Draayers in the text above (set does not activates), but Your solution is new to me. Thank You, I will check that.

User avatar
Fiberthree
Posts: 448
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:06 pm
Location: Behind the windshield
Motorcycle: Black 1999 GL1500SE

Re: 1993 GL1500 Aspencade cruise control problem

Postby Fiberthree » Sun Jun 15, 2014 5:10 am

Aren't there four cruise cancel switches? Clutch, front brake lever, rear brake, and throttle switch. You said you sprayed them but did you also check that they were working properly?
Ed

WARNING: All posts are subject to influence from an uncontrollable dominant sarcastic gene. Offensive remarks may or may not be intentional.

Gilbert Draayers
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:13 pm
Location: Oostburg, Wisconsin
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500A Aspencade

Re: 1993 GL1500 Aspencade cruise control problem

Postby Gilbert Draayers » Sun Jun 15, 2014 10:21 am

I never did get mine to work, if anybody has any other suggestions please let me know. Also, I did replace the main cruise control box under the trunk and that didn't help either. Now I just use the throttle lock but I may just let the Honda shop fix it! Thanks, Gib.

Bigert
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 2:45 pm
Location: Angelholm, Skane Lan, Sweden
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500 Aspencade

Re: 1993 GL1500 Aspencade cruise control problem

Postby Bigert » Sun Jun 15, 2014 3:08 pm

Gilbert Draayers wrote:I never did get mine to work, if anybody has any other suggestions please let me know. Also, I did replace the main cruise control box under the trunk and that didn't help either. Now I just use the throttle lock but I may just let the Honda shop fix it! Thanks, Gib.


Sorry to hear that.
I used this guide and managed to solve the problem http://www.goldwingworld.com/pages/cruisecontrol.htm.

Gilbert Draayers
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 12:13 pm
Location: Oostburg, Wisconsin
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500A Aspencade

Re: 1993 GL1500 Aspencade cruise control problem

Postby Gilbert Draayers » Tue Jun 02, 2015 1:22 am

It turned out to be the rear brake switch was not working properly. The Honda shop fixed it this year, along with several other items. I just ordered the GPS audio input adapter available through this site and when I install that I should be good to go for awhile! Thanks again for all your suggestions, Gib.




Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests