Cigarette Plug

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
hap2
Motorcycle: 1992 GoldWing 1500SE

Cigarette Plug

Postby hap2 » Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:20 pm

I'm thinking of putting cigarette plug on a 1992 1500SE and have a few questions for ya.

Is there a place (socket) to put already there by Honda? If so, where?

IF not, where is a good place to put it?

How long do you think it would take in hours to put it in?

Thank you

TennX
Motorcycle: 97 GL 1500 Aspencade
06 VTX 1300R

Re: Cigarette Plug

Postby TennX » Sat Nov 10, 2012 5:08 pm

Im new to the wing,(but not motorcycles) and can only tell how I did mine....most put the socket in the left dash storage pocket...(I put mine in the unused CB panel)...with help from the forum I installed a fuse block,keyed on by the accessory terminals on the stock fuse block and wired my socket to it as I wanted 15amps....more will chime in....good luck
Phil.......

hap2
Motorcycle: 1992 GoldWing 1500SE

Postby hap2 » Sat Nov 10, 2012 8:31 pm

Thanks Phil. About how long did it take you to install it once u had everything?

TennX
06 VTX 1300R

Postby TennX » Sat Nov 10, 2012 10:04 pm

hap2 wrote:Thanks Phil. About how long did it take you to install it once u had everything?

I cant really say, as I approach everything like I got all the time in the world...I would hazard a guess as maybe couple of hours..for me hardest part was fishing the wires back to the battery as I didnt want/have to remove the shelter...I used an electrical connection brand fuse block as it comes with its own relay....if you care to do a search, plenty of info...good luck
Phil.......

WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Postby WingAdmin » Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:12 am

TennX wrote:
hap2 wrote:Thanks Phil. About how long did it take you to install it once u had everything?