CB Radio/Headset Issues

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
Rickgyver
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500SE

CB Radio/Headset Issues

Postby Rickgyver » Sun Feb 17, 2013 12:21 pm

I've been working on my NTM (new to me)2000SE, 35K since 12/2012 and now have run into frustration! I added a J&M headset to my helmet. The problem is that I can't hear incoming transmissions. Everything else works as it should,,,,,cb works properly thru dash, can transmit thru headset, am/fm/mp3 work thru headset. If I turn squelch and volume up all the way, I can faintly hear the static thru headset AND static thru dash speakers. All this with CB set to "headset". I can hear myself when intercom is on. I have checked and cleaned all connections. I can ride with my friends and can hear their conversations thru dash. Have contacted Sierra and J&M but with no results. I don't consider my GW to be "old" but it seems to me that the 1800 has taken over all attention! I am not a newbie to the mc world but am still learning about my GW. I remember sitting on my uncle's GW and being intimidated by the size! But now I actually love riding mine and still learning. Looking forward to your help. THX
Attachments

mtn_boy1
Motorcycle: 1995 GL1500 SE

Re: CB Radio/Headset Issues

Postby mtn_boy1 » Sun Feb 17, 2013 4:47 pm

Don't get mad at me, but, are you sure the CB is set to headset? or is the radio intercom? You have to push the squelch button to put CB on headset. I had the same problem until Wingadmin explained the difference to me. You have a headset button for the radio AND a headset button for the CB. Hope that was your problem, easy fix. Just push the squelch button.
'Soldier HARD'
Patriot Guard Riders, North Carolina/Virginia
"From the day I was born they have had my back..til the day I die I will have theirs."

Rickgyver

Postby Rickgyver » Sun Feb 17, 2013 5:24 pm