Aux input


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
SA Goldie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:40 pm
Location: Durban, KZN, South Africa
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500SE

Aux input

Postby SA Goldie » Thu Feb 28, 2013 4:36 am



Good Morning Guys,
I have gone the easy way and soldered the wires from an aux cable to caps139 and 140(positive legs) I have inserted a blank casette into the deck. When i connect my cellphone to listen to music, it plays for about a second and then dies. If i then press the radio/tape button, it plays again for abt a second. What am i doing wrong !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1



User avatar
Sempai
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 12:30 am
Location: Wichita, KS
Motorcycle: '94 GL1500SE
Contact:

Re: Aux input

Postby Sempai » Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:53 pm

I'm curious...have you tried using your aux imput with another source? Just as a precaution to confirm that the problem is with your input set-up and not with your music source.
Keep the rubber side down.

User avatar
Wingsconsin
Posts: 786
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:47 pm
Location: Sussex, Wisconsin (West of Milwaukee)
Motorcycle: 2002 GL1800 - Pearl Orange
1996 GL1500 Aspencade - Pearl Blue
1992 GL1500 Aspencade -Candy Red
1983 Suzuki GS850GL - Blue & Black
Contact:

Re: Aux input

Postby Wingsconsin » Thu Feb 28, 2013 4:19 pm

For some reason I seem to remember that the inserted cassette needs to be more than BLANK..but rather "empty" of tape..
The tape running against the heads will pick up no sound and transmit that rather the the leads transmitting music... :?: :|
Just my SWAG approach....take a acassette and dismantle it and strip out the tape itself...
It MIGHT work...?!?!?


LOOK HERE --> http://www.rangeweb.net/~nperry/Goldwin ... ut%202.htm
Postings are my opinions based on experience and acquired knowledge.
Your results may vary. Universal disclaimers apply.


Motorcycle Adventure Storys writen by me
http://neverlost-justexploring.blogspot.com/

User avatar
redial
Posts: 1993
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:17 am
Location: Kapunda, SouthAustralia
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500 Spectre Red Aspencade

Re: Aux input

Postby redial » Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:30 pm

I have recently purchased a blank casette to run. It was about $20 eBay. It is fitted with the hardware required to connect up and make it go. I havent tried it yet, so cannot comment further.
Len in Kapunda

The world is not going to finish today, as it is already tomorrow in Australia and New Zealand, and other islands of foreign nations such as Guam and Samoa.

SA Goldie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:40 pm
Location: Durban, KZN, South Africa
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500SE

Re: Aux input

Postby SA Goldie » Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:35 pm

Thanks Wingsconsin, i have done it exactly as the link that u have send me, empty cassette and all. This is a radio programmed for the Japanese market, would that make a differance? Will try a different music source first
Regards
Gary

SA Goldie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:40 pm
Location: Durban, KZN, South Africa
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500SE

Re: Aux input

Postby SA Goldie » Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:41 pm

Hi Len, that cassette with the aux lead is not available in S.A. All we have here is good rugby and cricket players :D

User avatar
Cantankerous
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:52 pm
Location: Spokane Valley, WA
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500

Re: Aux input

Postby Cantankerous » Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:48 am

The tape mechanism needs to have tension on the spindles to keep operating. An empty cassette with a rubber band between the hubs seems to do the trick.

SA Goldie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:40 pm
Location: Durban, KZN, South Africa
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500SE

Re: Aux input

Postby SA Goldie » Fri Mar 01, 2013 11:08 pm

I have done the mod Bobs way, relay and switch and it works a 100% Thanks for tips and advice, it is much appreciated

jackier1061
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Roanoke, VA
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500 Aspencade

Re: Aux input

Postby jackier1061 » Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:50 pm

I soldered 10K ohm resistors to the left and right channel wires to a 1/8 inch stereo cable and soldered the other end of the resistors to the exposed ends of R208 and R208 that are closest to C139 and C140. I can't remember which is the right and which is the left channel on the bike, you might refer to the schematic for that info. Solder the ground from the 1/8 inch plug to the negative leg of C151 which is nearby.

Use some kind of strain relief so the connections don't get pulled off. I also knew that I would never use my tape deck again so I pulled the multi-wire plug located near the tape deck motor. I do not have to have a dummy tape in and I don't hear any motor whine in the stereo. I have access to all the music on my phone. It is a great mod.

This was not my idea, I got it from someone else on this list. They included pictures also.




Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests