Air Compressor


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
SA Goldie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:40 pm
Location: Durban, KZN, South Africa
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500SE

Air Compressor

Postby SA Goldie » Fri Apr 05, 2013 12:21 am



Good Morning All,
Is the compressor and the lcd unit link ? The compressor on my 1500se test ok but does not work with the buttons. My lcd unit is totally dead and according to the wiring diagram in the Clymer manual, the wires from nr 5 relay goes to the lcd unit. Any help is appreciated, regards Gary



User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: Air Compressor

Postby WingAdmin » Fri Apr 05, 2013 4:59 am

SA Goldie wrote:Good Morning All,
Is the compressor and the lcd unit link ? The compressor on my 1500se test ok but does not work with the buttons. My lcd unit is totally dead and according to the wiring diagram in the Clymer manual, the wires from nr 5 relay goes to the lcd unit. Any help is appreciated, regards Gary


There is no common link between the compressor and the LCD panel.

SA Goldie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:40 pm
Location: Durban, KZN, South Africa
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500SE

Re: Air Compressor

Postby SA Goldie » Fri Apr 05, 2013 6:08 am

Thanks Admin, but i traced the wires and the negative leg of relay 5 goes straight to the lcd unit. When i put that wire down to earth, relay 5 comes in sraight away. the "dead side" of the P CHECK switch goes to the lcd unit as well

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7663
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Air Compressor

Postby virgilmobile » Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:41 am

I'll look ,but I believe that the LCD circuit also has the pressure indicator...
It would also have the circuit that enables the compressor to operate.
It is a switching transistor that is operated by the displays response to the buttons.
If the display won't show the pressure,it won't allow the compressor to operate....It's a safety thing...You can't operate the compressor if the bike is in gear or if the engine is off.

So if the display is inoperative or no display can be shown,the compressor is disabled.
Your gonna have to get the display working again.

I'm not sure,but it may also affect the cruise control operation.It needs a speed pulse....

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7663
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Air Compressor

Postby virgilmobile » Fri Apr 05, 2013 11:01 am

I've compiled the schematics of the bikes wiring that is associated with the LCD.
Be certain that there is both ground,switched power and steady power.


Let us know if you need more help.

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: Air Compressor

Postby WingAdmin » Fri Apr 05, 2013 3:50 pm

I knew there was a line to switch the LCD to show pressure, but I was not aware there was an inhibit line coming the other way. That said, I'm working remotely on vacation this week, and have no schematics to reference! :)

User avatar
Fiberthree
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:06 pm
Location: Behind the windshield
Motorcycle: Black 1999 GL1500SE

Re: Air Compressor

Postby Fiberthree » Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:55 pm

SA Goldie wrote:Thanks Admin, but i traced the wires and the negative leg of relay 5 goes straight to the lcd unit. When i put that wire down to earth, relay 5 comes in sraight away. the "dead side" of the P CHECK switch goes to the lcd unit as well



We are assuming you mean the LCD on the compressor panel and not the one between the tach and speedometer on the instrument panel. Correct?
Ed

WARNING: All posts are subject to influence from an uncontrollable dominant sarcastic gene. Offensive remarks may or may not be intentional.

SA Goldie
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:40 pm
Location: Durban, KZN, South Africa
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500SE

Re: Air Compressor

Postby SA Goldie » Fri Apr 05, 2013 11:55 pm

Hi Virgil
On the electronic board i have 12v, 5v and ground. Do u know which component powers the board when u switch on ?

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7663
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Air Compressor

Postby virgilmobile » Sat Apr 06, 2013 8:52 am

There are 2 12volt inputs and one 5 volt.
Memory,power and the 5 volt,
I have no schematic of the inside of the LCD module.
I can't find anything about it.
Someone would have to rely on experience and famarility with electronic circuits to diagnose it.

User avatar
gordonv
Posts: 168
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 6:39 pm
Location: Richmond BC
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500
1999 GL1500CF
1982 GL1100A

Re: Air Compressor

Postby gordonv » Mon Apr 08, 2013 11:12 pm

My new to my 88' doesn't display on the LCD panel (on the instrument cluster), and also the cruise control isn't working. Was just looking over the service manual to find out how to diagnose the problem. I wasn't aware of the disabled functions if the display wasn't working, makes sense, don't want to blow up your shocks (tires) if you don't know how much air presure you have.




Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest