95 Radio Preset lost


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
rexles
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Holland, OH
Motorcycle: 1995 GL1500 Aspencade

95 Radio Preset lost

Postby rexles » Sat Jun 15, 2013 6:48 pm



I searched topics for this but everyone says to check fuses.
I checked all the fuses in the fuse block on left side of bike and the fuses in the relay box right behind the fuse block. All are ok and look like the connections are ok.
Loose my presets on my radio everytime bike has been shut off for a time. Not affecting clock.
Any help here?



User avatar
robb
Posts: 1040
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 7:46 pm
Location: Lexington, North Carolina
Motorcycle: 1989 Honda GL1500 Aspencade

Re: 95 Radio Preset lost

Postby robb » Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:13 pm

Presets are part of the radio and not controlled by a fuse in itself. Sounds like a battery problem, when weak will divert all power to starter circuit and away from all else. One dead cell could cause the problem.

User avatar
mtn_boy1
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 2:57 pm
Location: Oxford, NC
Motorcycle: 1995 GL1500 SE

Re: 95 Radio Preset lost

Postby mtn_boy1 » Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:28 pm

Don't know about the 1500 (yet) but on my 1100, there was a 5 amp fuse, separate, under the seat that controlled the memory. May not be the same on the 1500.
'Soldier HARD'
Patriot Guard Riders, North Carolina/Virginia
"From the day I was born they have had my back..til the day I die I will have theirs."

rexles
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Holland, OH
Motorcycle: 1995 GL1500 Aspencade

Re: 95 Radio Preset lost

Postby rexles » Sun Jun 16, 2013 7:56 am

robb wrote:Presets are part of the radio and not controlled by a fuse in itself. Sounds like a battery problem, when weak will divert all power to starter circuit and away from all else. One dead cell could cause the problem.



Brand new battery last month.

rexles
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Holland, OH
Motorcycle: 1995 GL1500 Aspencade

Re: 95 Radio Preset lost

Postby rexles » Sun Jun 16, 2013 7:58 am

mtn_boy1 wrote:Don't know about the 1500 (yet) but on my 1100, there was a 5 amp fuse, separate, under the seat that controlled the memory. May not be the same on the 1500.


This is what I am thinking. I know there is a 5amp fuse that constantly keeps power to the radio. It is probably somewhere other than the main fuse block. Anybody know where?

User avatar
liquineer
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:28 pm
Location: London, England, United Kingdom
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 Panther Trike

Re: 95 Radio Preset lost

Postby liquineer » Sun Jun 16, 2013 8:09 am

According to my Honda manual there is a back up fuse for memory power in the fuse relay box. on the schematic there is the number 9 written (fuse 9?) and it is 5 amp. Hope this helps
Are we having fun yet?

shadow-rider
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:06 pm
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Motorcycle: 1989 1500 Goldwing

Re: 95 Radio Preset lost

Postby shadow-rider » Sun Jun 16, 2013 3:04 pm

I have an 89 Goldwing and had the same problem Check the fuses for a 5 amp labeled backup in the fuse box on the left side. It was blown. Put a new fuse in and everything was back.

rexles
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 7:47 pm
Location: Holland, OH
Motorcycle: 1995 GL1500 Aspencade

Re: 95 Radio Preset lost

Postby rexles » Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:08 am

shadow-rider wrote:I have an 89 Goldwing and had the same problem Check the fuses for a 5 amp labeled backup in the fuse box on the left side. It was blown. Put a new fuse in and everything was back.



All my fuses in the fuse block are good.

User avatar
liquineer
Posts: 245
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:28 pm
Location: London, England, United Kingdom
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 Panther Trike

Re: 95 Radio Preset lost

Postby liquineer » Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:45 am

In the trouble shooting guide it says remove the 18 pin connector from the back of the radio and check between pin 18 and pin 17 with a voltmeter and even with ignition in the off or lock postion, there should be a reading of the battery voltage. Note that pins 17 abnd 18 are not adjacent to each other, one should be green wire (ground) and the other should be a red/yellow wire (positive ) It says if you get battery voltage the radio itself may be faulty, if no voltage it indicates a wire break. Wire 18 is the back up feed.They do say also check fuses 2, 9 and 10 . It may be worth replacing them with new ones anyway just to be absolutely certain all is working OK they are 15A, 5A and 10A respectively.No great expense to do that.


Are we having fun yet?


Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Chad56, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], wingdings and 4 guests