Tachometer not working


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
l100
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 7:18 am
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Motorcycle: 1982 Goldwing Aspencade GL1100

Tachometer not working

Postby l100 » Fri Jul 12, 2013 3:27 am



The tachometer on my 1991 Goldwing 1500 SE is not working. The previous owner said it work on and off!! Had it checked out and was told that it is faulty and I need a new cluster!! If this is true where do I get another cluster as finding one here in South Africa seems impossible!! Is it possible to replace the cluster myself?? I was also told that this is the reason why my speed control it not working. Please advise and assist if possible!!



User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7663
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Tachometer not working

Postby virgilmobile » Fri Jul 12, 2013 7:34 am

I'll start looking at the schematics about the tach.
It is possible the cruise will not work because it dosen't know the rpm of the engine or speed of the bike.
Generally speaking,when 2 things do not work,they have a common problem.
I tend to lean more to a bad connection that operates the tach rather than the tach itself.
Obviously replacing the entire assembly would most likely cure your problem because the cruise gets its signals from there as well....However it may be as simple as a broken connection on the cluster.
Are you able to remove the cluster and possibly repair/solder if needed.?

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7663
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Tachometer not working

Postby virgilmobile » Fri Jul 12, 2013 11:10 am

The closest wiring I can find is for a 93 but it gives you a idea where to start....
Personally,I'd pull the side covers off and be able to start the bike..
Move the ECM module cable plug by twisting and pushing on it to see if that will restore the tach....
It appears that the tach voltage comes out of the ECM module as well as the cruise signals....
There may be poor connections in the plug...The ECM module is in the same place as the 88.
It's on the left side,just below the gas cap,under the plastic...


Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest