front brakes

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
crazy frog
Motorcycle: 1988 1500GL converted to trike by baron

front brakes

Postby crazy frog » Sat May 01, 2010 4:04 pm

Hi everyone I have a 1988 1500 trike and keep getting a clicking noise from the brakes when I apply the front brake with the hand lever if you apply it twice quickly it stops. Has anyone else had this problem I have checked the calipers and pads and cannot see anything wrong. also when I put the bike into first gear it really goes in with a clunk do all the older bikes do this or is it a problem with my gearbox hope someone can help with either problem regards Brian :?: :?:

Scanjo
Motorcycle: 89 GL1500

Re: front brakes

Postby Scanjo » Tue May 11, 2010 11:10 pm

Hi everyone I have a 1988 1500 trike and keep getting a clicking noise from the brakes when I apply the front brake with the hand lever if you apply it twice quickly it stops.

Disclaimer: I'm no expert. I give my advice with the best of intentions in the spirit of friendship, but if in doubt, check with your local dealer.

I had the same clicking you refer to on my 89 1500. I had a leaking front fork seal which allowed oil onto the brake pads. I replaced the seals and brake pads since they were oil soaked. The clicking is now gone. I'm not saying you have a leak as well but your bike is over 20 years old. If the seals have never been replaced, then a leak is very possible. Check for oil running down the back side of one or both forks. If you find some, it is most likely fork seal failure. Replace the seals. The oil naturally runs down to the calipers so the pads will be soaked as well. Replace them too. Even if the seals are ok, I would bet replacing the pads will solve the clicking for you.