Frozen/Stripped Differential Fill Plug

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
Avalon97
Motorcycle: 1996 Aspencade

Frozen/Stripped Differential Fill Plug

Postby Avalon97 » Thu Dec 19, 2013 12:41 pm

Recently purchased a 1996 Aspencade with no verifiable maintenance records. Went to drain the rear differential and found the fill bolt to be stripped. This could be a good or bad sign as obviously someone either changed or attempted to change the oil prior to me. Tried heat and vice grips but just compounded the problem. Does anyone have any suggestions how I can get the plug out? I'm no mechanic, just someone willing try. Thanks.

golden highway
Motorcycle: 1987 Interstate
1998 Aspencade

Re: Frozen/Stripped Differential Fill Plug

Postby golden highway » Thu Dec 19, 2013 1:59 pm

I assume you are talking about the fill cap about the size of a quarter. It only has a few threads and an oring. I never seen one that stuck. usually the threads on the cap break away from the cap. At worst you should be able to pop it out with a big screw driver. You can buy new ones on eBay for a few bucks so take a dermal and cut it if you have to.

ct1500
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500

Postby ct1500 » Thu Dec 19, 2013 2:29 pm

Let us hope you are on the large fill plug and not something else.

Interesting problem. A plug that is stripped needs some outward force (while turning) to hopefully catch a semi decent thread to begin the back out process.

Large vise grips while turning and pulling straight outward would be first choice. Next choice would be to drill hole in center of hex and install a convenient tool to hook inside of plug. With various leverage devices pull hard out on tool and at same time turn plug counter clockwise with open end wrench.

Will be much easier with 2 pairs of hands. Proper flush and catch of any shavings observed of course.
This is what I do
Local and need repair help with your 1500, Valkyrie or ST please PM

golden highway