thermo fan switch

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
Ben HB Tan
Motorcycle: 1995 Honda Goldwing GL1500 SE

thermo fan switch

Postby Ben HB Tan » Fri Dec 20, 2013 10:15 am

Wingers,
I am a newbie to your superb forum. Also a new owner of a1995 Goldwing GL1500 SE in Singapore. Weather here is hot and daily in excess of 33 degrees Celsius. My GW thus run hot into it 3/4 mark on the guage especially on slow traffic. Considering replacing OEM fan switch with one of a lower operating temperature around 80 to 90 degrees C to turn fans on earlier. Anyone can advice operatingvtemperature of OEM fan switch? Offer any valued advice on what I propose to do? I can only offer one tip to make your bikes run smoother, i.e. add half a bottle of "REDEX" petrol additive to every tankful of petrol over 3 tank fills before reverting to specified dosages. It work for me and my mates in Singapore.
Ben.

ct1500
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500

Re: thermo fan switch

Postby ct1500 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:03 am

Welcome,

You may think 3/4 is hot but in reality is normal and the way the bike was designed with many proven millions of miles on the product line with no ill effects.

What you propose has a trade off in running fans almost constantly would be the electrical draw down of battery with OEM alternator.
This is what I do
Local and need repair help with your 1500, Valkyrie or ST please PM

redial
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500 Spectre Red Aspencade

Postby redial » Sat Dec 21, 2013 8:11 am

Normally, the fans only come on when it is hot. That is a given. However, when they come on, they should blow the air forward, and if you are moving, that would be counter-productive with the air coming from the movement of the GW, and the fans blowing the air forward, they would tend to cancel themselves, and you would have less cooling effect than you have now.