Riding in the Rain

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
jeffmd2
Motorcycle: 2003 1800, 1995 GL1500SE

Riding in the Rain

Postby jeffmd2 » Thu Mar 06, 2014 3:28 pm

I am a little leary about riding in the rain. In December of 2012 while riding my 1990 Pacific Coast, I went down after hitting some standing water doing 65-70 on the freeway. I hydroplaned and the rear wheel went out to the left. When I regained traction I went into a hard death wobble and went down hard on the right. My fear is of this happening again. Does anyone have thoughts on the increased weight of the GL1500 keeping the rubber on the road and not floating on puddles. I have Dunlop E3's that are about 60%. I have felt the bike slip some on a long wide tar snake which gave me a scare. What are some riding technics to use while on real wet roads to avoid dangerous situations? I am new to the Goldwing with only 1400 miles under my belt so far.

robb
Motorcycle: 1989 Honda GL1500 Aspencade

Re: Riding in the Rain

Postby robb » Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:41 pm

I run 40 psi front and 42 psi rear and it cuts through water like a hot knife cutting butter. Learn to stop short of painted surfaces and lower your speed as rain increases. Never ride faster than you feel comfortable. A ride is only good if it is completed.

Fatwing Chris
Motorcycle: 2004 ABS Model Goldwing

Postby Fatwing Chris » Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:44 pm