CB antenna grounding plate

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
HeyBerg1
Motorcycle: 1994 GL 1500 A
1986 Yamaha Virago VT 700 SOLD
2014 Timeout ION Trailer

CB antenna grounding plate

Postby HeyBerg1 » Fri Jul 11, 2014 9:20 pm

Hi Folks, I'm new to this and my wing and have a question if someone out there can give me answer to it. I purchased and installed a used CB radio and antenna on my 94 GL1500 A wing and it has a grounding plate that I can't see how it fits inside the place it's supposed to go. I know it attaches where the studs of the antenna come through the side of the trunk that's made for the antenna but I've attached photos to show there's no room that I can see. To solve my grounding problem I've attached an electrical wire to the bottom stud of the antenna and wired it to a ground screw on the frame. The CB works and I guess it'd work better if I had a SWR meter on it to get the right reading on it for better reception. I've added a photo showing the grounding plate laying flat but is not attached to anything just to show the plate itself. I appreciate any and all help. Thanks, Berg

Stud area where ground plate should go

Ground plate laying flat with white wire for ground
Ground plate laying flat with white wire for ground

Attachments
Do I have the wrong grounding plate
Do I have the wrong grounding plate

Uncle Fester
Motorcycle: 1996 GL-1500 Cali model 'Wing, blue in color, named Ol'Blue

Re: CB antenna grounding plate

Postby Uncle Fester » Fri Jul 11, 2014 9:29 pm

Don't drive yourself nuts trying to get 1:1 swr on a 'Wing, it will change everytime you ride, passenger, no passenger, pack on back seat, no pack on back seat, flag on flag pole, no flag, ect ect ect. . . . .if it is receiving and transmitting good, leave it as these cbs are not good for much more than line of sight, maybe a bit more.