Lost running/brake lights

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
CCjon
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500SE with Champion sidecar
Renovated and sold 1982 Goldwing

Lost running/brake lights

Postby CCjon » Tue Aug 26, 2014 7:38 pm

Hi, newbie here, not to motorcycles but to Goldwings. Bought a 1994 GL1500 with a Champion sidecar.

After following all the great "How To" articles here, serviced the spline, gear box, oil change, changed all three air filters, new spark plugs, mounted CT on rear, rear MC tire on front and replaced the ten year old sidecar tire. Checked brake pads - OK, greased axles, check all fuses, cleaned up some rat's nest wiring. Install a voltmeter. Am no stranger to working on my own bike, but this Wing os the most complicated bike I have ever worked on.

Put everything back together, Bike started up fine, everything working. Took it around the block slowly to check out my work when suddenly it loses running lights and brake lights. Back in the garage, bike starts and runs fine, headlight comes on, turn signals work, air compressor works, electric fuel pump in sidecar works, electric trim on sidecar works, but none of the running lights, brake lights or gauges (fuel and temp gauges) come on.

Checked the right side, both main fuses and reverse fuses, all okay. Checked the fuses on the left side, all okay. Now scratching my head, where to look next???

Help please. What should I check next?

CCjon

WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: Lost running/brake lights

Postby WingAdmin » Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:21 pm

CCjon wrote:Hi, newbie here, not to motorcycles but to Goldwings. Bought a 1994 GL1500 with a Champion sidecar.