Can i use aux tank on 1500 in workshop?


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
goldwinguk
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:12 am
Location: United Kingdom
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500SEV

Can i use aux tank on 1500 in workshop?

Postby goldwinguk » Sat Nov 29, 2014 4:26 am



Hi all...I have a 1500 se Goldwing 1997 it has been stood for a long time almost nine years, im looking at starting it up again...Ive changed the timing belts as the bikes covered 50,000 miles, and also changed plugs, the tank has rusted inside, so this will need to come out and be replaced I have a replacement ready to go in, I need to use an auxiliary tank to try and start it , my question is can I use a gravity fed tank to feed the carbs and start it or do I need to use the new tank with the pump etc?



User avatar
ct1500
Posts: 813
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:09 pm
Location: Glastonbury,CT
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500
Contact:

Re: Can i use aux tank on 1500 in workshop?

Postby ct1500 » Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:12 am

Gravity feed will work just fine but after nine years of sitting you will be better served taking the carbs off for an inspection and clean out first.
This is what I do
Local and need repair help with your 1500, Valkyrie or ST please PM

goldwinguk
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:12 am
Location: United Kingdom
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500SEV

Re: Can i use aux tank on 1500 in workshop?

Postby goldwinguk » Sat Nov 29, 2014 5:42 am

Thanks ct1500 I will strip carbs down but wanted to see if she would fire up anyway, I'm sure a few things will need replacing especially where rubber is concerned diaphragms etc..was surprised that everything electrical works even the radio!!.. I add that she was outside for 9 years under a tarp!! So I owe her some tlc.

User avatar
Mh434
Posts: 944
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 10:24 pm
Location: Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Motorcycle: 1997 gl1500 SE
Previous:
1981 GL1100I
1989 Kawasaki Concours

Re: Can i use aux tank on 1500 in workshop?

Postby Mh434 » Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:28 am

I suspect that, after all that time, running fuel into the carbs would result in it leaking out all over the place from the carbs. Another possibility is if the floats are stuck down, the fuel could fill up several cylinders with gas, and the resultant hydrolock could destroy the engine when you tried to start it. As much as I'm not big on tearing down carbs I, too, think it would be best, to avoid big problems down the road.

goldwinguk
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 3:12 am
Location: United Kingdom
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500SEV

Re: Can i use aux tank on 1500 in workshop?

Postby goldwinguk » Sat Nov 29, 2014 12:01 pm

Well I linked her up to a aux tank let the fuel glug down and then tried her...she fired up almost straight away!...really responsive on the throttle but the choke cable will need replacing... I must admit I'm a bit blown away... She's running sweet and the alternator which I was sure would be no good is charging steady 14.2 amps... Honda I'm impressed !!!

billcrawford
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: flower mound. texas
Motorcycle: 1990 goldwing 1500 gl/se

Re: Can i use aux tank on 1500 in workshop?

Postby billcrawford » Thu Feb 26, 2015 8:01 pm

just curious. did you remove and replace fuel tank if so please give a brief description of what you had to remove. much thanks. i am going to have to replace mine on my 1500.

User avatar
bstig60
Posts: 808
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 9:14 pm
Location: Nevada City, CA. Jupiter, FL.
Motorcycle: 1999 GL1500AC ASP
1999 Virago XV1100LC
1994 Time Out Camping Trailer
Contact:

Re: Can i use aux tank on 1500 in workshop?

Postby bstig60 » Fri Feb 27, 2015 10:16 am

When you replace the tank and get the fuel system checked out, I would advise running a half can of Seafoam thru the bike to get the remaining gunk out of the carbs. This is adviseable even if you plan on removing the carbs and cleaning them which I would also recommend. There may be some vacuum lines that will soon fail due to the length of time the bike has set. So I would suggest replacing any VAC line that is in question. You will save yourself a bit of heartache if you pull off the plastic and check them all now. If you did'nt already do so when you changed the timing belts, inspect the radiator hoses, clamps and change the coolant. I just went thru this with my bike last fall. It had set since 2001. Please keep us posted on how things are going.


Bill


Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest