wiring for gear indacator


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
lamasue
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: fayette,maine
Motorcycle: 2000 1500se

wiring for gear indacator

Postby lamasue » Wed Dec 24, 2014 12:00 pm



i have a 2000 1500 se i want to put on a gear indicator what wiring do i need from indicator 4 wire ,6 wire i dont think i have to go hall effect



User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Postby WingAdmin » Wed Dec 24, 2014 2:41 pm

I'm not quite sure I understand what you're asking. There is a gear position switch already in your bike that you can tap into. It connects to ground for neutral, 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th gears. If none of those are connected to ground, then the bike is in first gear.

GL1500 Gear position switch
GL1500 Gear position switch

User avatar
lamasue
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: fayette,maine
Motorcycle: 2000 1500se

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Postby lamasue » Wed Dec 24, 2014 3:00 pm

seems like some indicators have 6 wires others have 4 do i want the 4 wire ones im looking for just a digital number display not too expensive

User avatar
ct1500
Posts: 813
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:09 pm
Location: Glastonbury,CT
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500
Contact:

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Postby ct1500 » Thu Dec 25, 2014 5:10 am

To prevent damaging something with a concocted device I would suggest you go with this which is plug and play.

http://cyclemax.com/inc/sdetail/gl1500_ ... /129/40958
This is what I do
Local and need repair help with your 1500, Valkyrie or ST please PM

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Postby WingAdmin » Thu Dec 25, 2014 11:54 am

ct1500 wrote:To prevent damaging something with a concocted device I would suggest you go with this which is plug and play.

http://cyclemax.com/inc/sdetail/gl1500_ ... /129/40958


I agree - this switch is connected to both the ECU and cruise computers. Unless you have a fairly good idea of what you're doing with electronics, don't attempt to add something to it. I added protective diodes on mine to isolate the ECU and cruise computer from my device.

User avatar
redial
Posts: 1993
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:17 am
Location: Kapunda, SouthAustralia
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500 Spectre Red Aspencade

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Postby redial » Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:39 pm

Yes, but how do the 1988/89 models get on? The link only allows for 1990/2000 models, and is not suitable for the 88/89 models. They may have come as a package of good things, but they forgot about the gear indicators.
Len in Kapunda

The world is not going to finish today, as it is already tomorrow in Australia and New Zealand, and other islands of foreign nations such as Guam and Samoa.

User avatar
lamasue
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: fayette,maine
Motorcycle: 2000 1500se

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Postby lamasue » Thu Dec 25, 2014 8:34 pm

i dont want somthing that big i just want gear number tell me how i can hook one up if any one knows

User avatar
redial
Posts: 1993
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:17 am
Location: Kapunda, SouthAustralia
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500 Spectre Red Aspencade

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Postby redial » Fri Dec 26, 2014 1:35 am

If you are looking for something simple, have a look at this item on eBay:

361018940981

171110170560


I have not tried it so I do not know if I can recommend it, but it may do the job for a simple and easier fix. The prices seem right.
Len in Kapunda

The world is not going to finish today, as it is already tomorrow in Australia and New Zealand, and other islands of foreign nations such as Guam and Samoa.

User avatar
Bluewaterhooker0
Posts: 558
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 11:27 pm
Location: Tampa, Fl
Motorcycle: 1997 Goldwing GL 1500 SE

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Postby Bluewaterhooker0 » Fri Dec 26, 2014 11:44 pm

I looked into installing a gear indicator on my 97, as well. But had the same concerns as have been mentioned. Any 'amatuer' solution that taps into the built-in gear indicator, runs a risk of messing with the ECU or cruise function. The magnetic device that was posted above has the drawback of counting 'missed' shifts due to the nature of the pickup devices, providing you with inaccurate gear indications. I assume the device sold by Cyclemax would work properly, but it wasn't worth that much to me. So, I remain 'gear indicator-less' for now.

User avatar
Uncle Fester
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bethany, Ok, right off Route 66 !
Motorcycle: 1996 GL-1500 Cali model 'Wing, blue in color, named Ol'Blue

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Postby Uncle Fester » Sat Dec 27, 2014 1:48 pm

Maybe I just do not understand,so can someone explain WHY you would NEED a gear indicator ? I have been riding for 30 years and have never felt the need for a gear indicator. . . to me it sounds like one more TOY that can cause problems down the road. :?:
Reputation is what other people know about you. Honor is what you know about yourself. Our stress about it happens when the two aren't the same. Be true to yourself and to hell with what everyone else thinks!

Image

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Postby WingAdmin » Sat Dec 27, 2014 7:38 pm

Uncle Fester wrote:Maybe I just do not understand,so can someone explain WHY you would NEED a gear indicator ? I have been riding for 30 years and have never felt the need for a gear indicator. . . to me it sounds like one more TOY that can cause problems down the road. :?:


It's not NEEDED - it's just a convenience item. It's nice to have, just as a double-check occasionally to make sure I'm in the gear I think I am - particularly when at a stop, to make sure I did in fact make it down to first, and aren't accidentally sitting in neutral or second.

User avatar
Uncle Fester
Posts: 1003
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 6:21 pm
Location: Bethany, Ok, right off Route 66 !
Motorcycle: 1996 GL-1500 Cali model 'Wing, blue in color, named Ol'Blue

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Postby Uncle Fester » Sat Dec 27, 2014 7:50 pm

Okay, THAT I can understand. . . never thought about checking your gear while at a stop sign / light . . . .
Reputation is what other people know about you. Honor is what you know about yourself. Our stress about it happens when the two aren't the same. Be true to yourself and to hell with what everyone else thinks!

Image

User avatar
lamasue
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: fayette,maine
Motorcycle: 2000 1500se

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Postby lamasue » Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:33 am

I like it because if I have to throttle away quickly I'm not a gear too high

User avatar
lamasue
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 7:57 pm
Location: fayette,maine
Motorcycle: 2000 1500se

Re: wiring for gear indacator

Postby lamasue » Tue Dec 30, 2014 7:31 pm

im going with GIPro X-Type Universal with Wheel Speed Sensor says it will work with my bike ill let you know how it works out ill start riding around may




Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], mburmandds and 4 guests