gl1500 speedometer


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
chouston99
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:56 am
Location: Amarillo,Tx
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 se

gl1500 speedometer

Postby chouston99 » Sun Apr 05, 2015 9:57 am



Can you rebuild a speedometer head or do I have to buy a new/used speedometer? If I buy a new/used speedometer is there a way to reset the odometer to current mileage on bike? Thanks


[img]

[/img]

User avatar
RBGERSON
Posts: 2612
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:57 am
Location: SCOTTSDALE, AZ
Motorcycle: 98 SE GL 1500
had every year from 75 to 83

Re: gl1500 speedometer

Postby RBGERSON » Sun Apr 05, 2015 6:33 pm

basically No and No..I am sure someone could do it but no parts for rebuilt and speedo are supposed to be tamper proof..for a reason..If you got a replacement with lower miles you could hook it up to a drill and spin it up.
HAD LOTS OF GOLDWING 75-83
NOW INTO 1500'S..RIDING A 1998 SE

FAIR WINDS,
RB

User avatar
ct1500
Posts: 813
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:09 pm
Location: Glastonbury,CT
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500
Contact:

Re: gl1500 speedometer

Postby ct1500 » Sun Apr 05, 2015 10:03 pm

Rebuilding/repairing is a specialized business. Check your yellow pages for a rebuilder some are still around especially the bigger cities.
This is what I do
Local and need repair help with your 1500, Valkyrie or ST please PM

User avatar
redial
Posts: 1993
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:17 am
Location: Kapunda, SouthAustralia
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500 Spectre Red Aspencade

Re: gl1500 speedometer

Postby redial » Sun Apr 05, 2015 10:12 pm

They might be called "Instrument Fitters". The are usually trained by the military for the instruments that are used in their applications.
Len in Kapunda

The world is not going to finish today, as it is already tomorrow in Australia and New Zealand, and other islands of foreign nations such as Guam and Samoa.

User avatar
chouston99
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:56 am
Location: Amarillo,Tx
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 se

Re: gl1500 speedometer

Postby chouston99 » Mon Apr 06, 2015 6:34 am

I fixed it thanks. All I did was clean it, lube it, and put it back together. Took it for a test ride and so far all seems to be working fine.
Thanks


[img]

[/img]


Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: thesprinklerguy1960 and 7 guests