headlight issues

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
kneabling
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 SE

headlight issues

Postby kneabling » Sat May 16, 2015 11:14 pm

I am new to the goldwing world. I purchased my first one about 1week ago. It is my dream bike since I was 12. On to the issue. It's a 1994 SE and when I change from high to low beam or vice versa depends on what it is on when I start the bike. The headlight when switched will either start modulating or go completely out. It does have a photocell so I assume there is a modulator on it but from what I've read if the modulator goes out you will still have basic high and low beam not just one or for that matter nothing. HELP!

dingdong
Motorcycle: 1976 gl1000
1993 gl1500
2004 NRX1800 Rune

Re: headlight issues

Postby dingdong » Sun May 17, 2015 7:25 am

I previously had an older Signal Dynamics modulator. When it failed it did not fail on it failed off. No high beam. The "fail on" feature evidently came later.

Tom
Tom

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

kneabling
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 SE

Postby kneabling » Sun May 17, 2015 10:15 am

Thank you I will look into that. I just didn't want to tear into it without a liitle idea of what it could be. Could it be the headlight switch assy. itself. If so which would would be the best and easiest to check first.

Bluewaterhooker0
Motorcycle: 1997 Goldwing GL 1500 SE

Postby Bluewaterhooker0 » Sun May 17, 2015 9:14 pm