carb????? 1500.....

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 5:16 pm
Location: flower mound. texas
Motorcycle: 1990 goldwing 1500 gl/se

carb????? 1500.....

Postby billcrawford » Tue Oct 06, 2015 6:54 pm

if I plug all vacuum lines will my 1500 run? has any one tried it or put another carb, without vacuum lines. I have to run chike 3/4 to just idle. it wont pull itself out of stop position, it dies when I let out clutch..

User avatar
Posts: 7586
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: carb????? 1500.....

Postby virgilmobile » Wed Oct 07, 2015 11:30 am

When I got my 88 it wouldn't run without half a choke(fuel enrich).both my low speed jets were plugged.Many hours and a day later,including replacing the needed vacuum lines,it idles fine.

Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 9:11 pm
Location: St Louis, Mo
Motorcycle: 1986 gl1200
1995 GL1500SE

Re: carb????? 1500.....

Postby tprender » Wed Oct 07, 2015 6:55 pm

If you have to run with the chock on, vacuum lines will not cure the problem. Like Virgil said you have the slow/idle jets clogged. Has this bike been setting for some time? Did this problem just happen? We need some more info on the bike. I was able to clean mine out by using Seafoam, it took me about 4 cans and 1000 miles of riding. I was putting in 2 oz per gal of gas at every fill, but my bike did run after it got moving. It took 5-10 min of warming up. In your case, I would think that you will need to clean the carbs good to get it to run. To clean the carbs good, means to take them off for cleaning.

User avatar
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:36 am
Location: Haverhill, MA
Motorcycle: 2016 GL1800
1994 GL1500SE (sold)
1995 VT1100 C2 Shadow ACE (Gifted)
1975 Kawasaki 500

Re: carb????? 1500.....

Postby raven41951 » Fri Oct 09, 2015 6:10 am

I use Startron Starbrite. It worked great on my Shadow, which had a half-hour warm up time and would not idle well at all. One tank after using 1oz of startron (try Amazon) and it idled fine and eliminated warm up time.

I also use it in my wing, 1oz in every other tank and it behaves fine. Had been stored when I got it and I gained about 200 rpm at idle just using startron. I have seafoam as well but have not needed to use it.

Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests