1500 cooling question

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
warlock1954
Motorcycle: 05 Goldwing

1500 cooling question

Postby warlock1954 » Mon Dec 07, 2015 3:58 pm

I have just bought a 92 goldwing trike. Have noticed when sitting in traffic or my shop the fans will come on, but will not cycle off unless I start to ride again. Do they normally do this? Just wondering. I ordered a lot of stuff for it. Don't know how long since any hoses or vacuum lines changed. So going to change all the cooling hoses, vacuum lines, timing belts, new K&N filter. Also adding a 4 degree trigger wheel. I'm a mechanic by trade, so doing the work is no problem. Also ordered a new thermostat gasket and top housing.
thanks, David

Fatwing Chris
Motorcycle: 2004 ABS Model Goldwing

Re: 1500 cooling question

Postby Fatwing Chris » Mon Dec 07, 2015 4:30 pm

The fans should cycle off at some point although it would depend on the ambient temp.Sitting in traffic with 100* ambient temp. it may not,but it should still keep it cool enough.I'd hold off on the trigger wheel myself as it's not really necessary if everything is working right.The trigger wheel will help mask issues from rotten vacuum lines and dirty carbs,but not fix those obviously.It will however make it harder on fuel as well as possibly making it run hotter.As far as the K&N goes if you like intake noise go for it,but the OEM does a really good job and aren't expensive.Good luck with the new Wing.
If I'da known it would last this long,I'da taken better care of it.
Chris
Double Dark
Darkside # 1602

MikeB
Motorcycle: 1998 - GL1500 Aspencade.
2003 - GL1800A

Postby MikeB » Mon Dec 07, 2015 4:47 pm

warlock1954 wrote:I have just bought a 92 goldwing trike. Have noticed when sitting in traffic or my shop the fans will come on, but will not cycle off unless I start to ride again. Do they normally do this? Just wondering.