Rear brake question: Access?

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
johnfliesagain
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500SE Anniversary Badge
Yamaha 79 XS750; 80 XS850
Picture of one of my Triples Yamaha xs750 '79 at Timonium Bike Show 2015

Rear brake question: Access?

Postby johnfliesagain » Sun Jan 17, 2016 11:25 pm

O K so I have read a lot of posts ...and as a newbie here forgive me ( I am a moderator on other forums so I know...)

2000 1500SE

I want to bleed the rear brake. I have found the access point in the left side case. My hands may not be that flexible.

To remove the left side case do I have to remove the trunk first? I have read one of the one line manuals, but it shows a date of 1990?? ar something like that not 2000. so it may not apply and that is why I ask. No I haven't paid some 60.00 USD to get one of the on line ones for the year.

I am concerned that my hands just won't fit to break the bleeder loose.
I would think that I would have to run the tube under the case towards the floor rather than inside the case to get the tube and the wrench to fit.

I really don't want to spend three hours taking things apart to only find out that there is a better way. Or risk breaking plastic in an unheated near freezing garage.

Did they really think of doing the repairs when they designed these things?

John in Baltimroe

John in Baltimore
A proud owner of a 2000 1500SE
:D Did I mention it was a Free Gift from a co-worker?

MikeB
Motorcycle: 1998 - GL1500 Aspencade.
2003 - GL1800A

Re: Rear brake question: Access?

Postby MikeB » Mon Jan 18, 2016 1:24 am

Read through this article on this board http://goldwingdocs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=30304.
It will give you the procedure for rebuilding your brake caliper BUT it shows how to get access to the brake caliper by removing the necessary plastic.
MikeB
Tacoma, WA, USA

Happytrails
Motorcycle: 1991 Goldwing 1500 SE

Postby Happytrails » Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:30 am