carb heat exchanger

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
g.pro
Motorcycle: 1999 SE GL1500

carb heat exchanger

Postby g.pro » Fri Feb 12, 2016 12:57 pm

I just rebuilt and synced my 1999 1500SE carbs and the bike runs flawlessly. BUT stupidly I didn't renew the hoses for the heat exchanger. So of course it's now leaking coolant. I verified the leak by clamping the two hoses at the front of the engine. My question is just how badly does a warm weather (San Antonio , Texas) Goldwing need that bit of extra heat on the carbs. I'm thinking of blocking both lines. Would appreciate any feedback. And as a pilot I understand carburetor ice so other than that.

millerized
Motorcycle: 99 GL1500SE

Re: carb heat exchanger

Postby millerized » Fri Feb 12, 2016 4:57 pm

I'm in, or was, in the same boat. I just went ahead and ordered the hoses...I think it was under $25 shipped for the pair. Figured Honda put them there for a reason, and I might as well put them back. While I've got the carbs off anyway. If they don't get here before I get the carbs back together though all bets are off.

OldZX11Rider
Motorcycle: 1994 Honda GL1500 Goldwing SE

Postby OldZX11Rider » Mon Feb 15, 2016 11:18 am

Being down in Texas, and with it running just fine, I think I'd order the new hoses but not change them out until the next time I had reason to dig around in there.

If there's a compelling reason to do it asap, I'm sure someone on here will let you know, and why. :D
For he is the minister of God to thee for good. But if thou do that which is evil, be afraid; for he beareth not the sword in vain:

millerized

Postby millerized » Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:49 pm

Just replaced the hoses today.
Daaaaaamn.....took me nearly 2hrs. One of them goes 180 degrees back towards the front of the motor under the right side manifold runners. It's a bit over a foot long, with several bends.
The other, towards the back but only about 8" long.