to those that have installed a amp to the stereo


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
pbourgoin
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 2:04 pm
Location: Greenwood, SC
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500 SE

to those that have installed a amp to the stereo

Postby pbourgoin » Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:36 pm



I have a 93 SE I cut the speaker wires a few inches from the stereo and soldered 4 sets of speaker wires to the cuts R-out L-out then back into the harness R-into speakers and L-into speakers ran wires to a small amp in the saddle bag and when turned on all I get is a VERY high pitched squeal high enough for instant headache lol. I did it this way to be able to use the factory fader. Has anyone else tried this or what did I do wrong and the squeal is there with the bike running or just with the key on.. T.I.A.


I got this Goldwing for my wife........ Good trade huh??? :D

millerized
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 6:33 am
Location: Inwood, WV
Motorcycle: 99 GL1500SE
Contact:

Re: to those that have installed a amp to the stereo

Postby millerized » Sat Mar 05, 2016 12:53 pm

Line/speaker input selector on the amp in the right position?

Reason I ask, is that they plye amp that I'm using will do the exact same thing if the RCA input is run with SPEAKER inputs with the switch in the RCA IN instead of the SPEAKER IN position.

User avatar
pbourgoin
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 2:04 pm
Location: Greenwood, SC
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500 SE

Re: to those that have installed a amp to the stereo

Postby pbourgoin » Sat Mar 05, 2016 2:52 pm

the switch is in the line level input position.
I got this Goldwing for my wife........ Good trade huh??? :D

millerized
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 6:33 am
Location: Inwood, WV
Motorcycle: 99 GL1500SE
Contact:

Re: to those that have installed a amp to the stereo

Postby millerized » Sat Mar 05, 2016 3:49 pm

pbourgoin wrote:the switch is in the line level input position.

Pyle amp by chance?

User avatar
pbourgoin
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 2:04 pm
Location: Greenwood, SC
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500 SE

Re: to those that have installed a amp to the stereo

Postby pbourgoin » Sat Mar 05, 2016 6:46 pm

No.. Its a old one from the 80s that I've had for years I think its a sparkomatic lol something out of my old car..
I got this Goldwing for my wife........ Good trade huh??? :D

millerized
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 6:33 am
Location: Inwood, WV
Motorcycle: 99 GL1500SE
Contact:

Re: to those that have installed a amp to the stereo

Postby millerized » Sat Mar 05, 2016 7:29 pm

Can you try it to a single speaker without going through the fader?
The bike is only 2 channels (left and right). Front and rear are just split off of the 2.
I found that out the hard way.
After that, I'm at a loss.

User avatar
FM-USA
Posts: 2008
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 8:40 am
Location: USA-ILL-60085
Motorcycle: .
'91 GL1500-I (Dbl-Darkside)
Acquired:__51K_Jun_??/2007
MADE_IT!_200K_Oct_17/2016
iRide 24/365 99% SmileMiles
================
"You don't buy yourself a
HD to be SATISFIED,...
you buy it to keep your
HD friends PACIFIED."
================
|
ANTAGONISTS need not post.
|
==================

Re: to those that have installed a amp to the stereo

Postby FM-USA » Sat Mar 05, 2016 9:11 pm

.
If its a old one from the 80s.... it could be a Gremlin.

NYUK-NYUK-NYUK, woiiieee soit'nly :D

.
"OIL CHANGE?" _FM 07-2009
Know its new taste and be loyal, you'll know when to change that oil.
Taste testing as the miles flow, souring as that acid grows.
And don't flirt with dirt or darkened oil, all the faster your engine will spoil.

millerized
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 6:33 am
Location: Inwood, WV
Motorcycle: 99 GL1500SE
Contact:

Re: to those that have installed a amp to the stereo

Postby millerized » Sun Mar 06, 2016 8:14 am

pbourgoin wrote:the switch is in the line level input position.

Needs to be 'speaker level' input otherwise you're driving the input with too much juice.
Line is RCA, speaker is speaker.
I might have caught that last night had I not been sober.

If your amp doesn't have actual speaker level input capability, you'll need a converter to turn speaker inputs to RCA inputs.

User avatar
pbourgoin
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 2:04 pm
Location: Greenwood, SC
Motorcycle: 1993 GL1500 SE

Re: to those that have installed a amp to the stereo

Postby pbourgoin » Sun Mar 06, 2016 8:35 am

This amp has a input switch marked line and low for the inputs figured the low was rca. but it does it in both positions. Guess I'll try it in my truck and see if it does it there. Didn't think it would go bad just sitting on a shelf in a box..
I got this Goldwing for my wife........ Good trade huh??? :D

millerized
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 6:33 am
Location: Inwood, WV
Motorcycle: 99 GL1500SE
Contact:

Re: to those that have installed a amp to the stereo

Postby millerized » Sun Mar 06, 2016 2:11 pm

pbourgoin wrote:This amp has a input switch marked line and low for the inputs figured the low was rca. but it does it in both positions. Guess I'll try it in my truck and see if it does it there. Didn't think it would go bad just sitting on a shelf in a box..

Don't know enough about the GW radio outside of it being less than desirable in the 21st century. Mine only runs the intercom right now.

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: to those that have installed a amp to the stereo

Postby WingAdmin » Mon Mar 07, 2016 2:32 pm

The way the GL1500 implements the fader (in order to present a consistent impedance to the stereo's amplifier, with either 2 or 4 speakers) is mind-bending and bizarre. It will not work with a standard aftermarket amplifier, as you have discovered.

You will have to either rewire the fader and put it in front of the amplifier, then run the amp outputs directly to all four speakers, or cut out the fader entirely, run the two channels out from the stereo into the speaker-level inputs on the amp, and then run the amp directly to each speaker.

GL1500 Fader Circuit
GL1500 Fader Circuit




Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests