Introduction from NewToWings64

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
NewToWings64
Motorcycle: 1996 GL1500 Aspencade, 2004 ST1300 PE, 2015 HD Street Glide Special

Introduction from NewToWings64

Postby NewToWings64 » Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:58 am

Hello all, and thanks in advance. I have always found forums to be a gr8 place to find answers, perhaps help others, and just plain gab...

I am new to the Goldwing scene. I purchased a 1996 Teal Aspencade from a local BMW dealership who had taken her in on trade. She had 52k on her when purchased three weeks ago and I have already put almost 1000 miles on her. They wanted $7000 for the bike, which they invested $500 on her to put new tires, battery, and an oil seal because of a leak somewhere (they weren't specific on where the leak was but she's OK now.)

I talked them down to $6240 out the door, including all the Calif. fees.

I also own a 2004 Honda ST1300 retired police edition and have had great luck finding a qualified, honest, local mechanic to kept her going strong. I've put 10k miles on her in 2 years. So I brought the teal wing to him and the only thing it needed was a radiator cal (old one cracked), front right side disc pads, air cleaner, and fuel filter. I had him also put new plugs, oil and filter in her.

This bike is BIG, and at first a little intimidating to ride, but now that I am getting used to her, a real pleasure to ride. I plan on going cross country from Hanford, CA to the east cost and back this coming summer.

Anyway, intros done, thanks for reading this...

joeincalif
Motorcycle: 1997 Gold Wing SE

Re: Introduction from NewToWings64

Postby joeincalif » Sat Apr 09, 2016 9:52 am

Congrats on the new to you wing. Once you get used to it you will love it. The seal the dealer replaced was probably the one on the shifter, not a big deal because they do wear out.