Compressor wont work if display is down.

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 10:25 pm
Location: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500 SE
Pearl Green and Beautiful

Compressor wont work if display is down.

Postby Greenwinger » Mon May 02, 2016 7:43 pm

I have a 97 SE with the malfunctioning LCD display when it is damp out. I just took it apart and am trying the clean and re-seal trick.
While I was working on it I realized that when ever my display was malfunctioning the compressor would not work, this has
been going on since I owned the bike. After driving about 10 minutes the heat from the engine would dry the display and begin to
work and I could use the compressor again. And while I was working on it every time I removed the instrument panel the compressor
would stop working, when I plugged it back in the compressor worked fine.

So my question is (I knew you were all waiting for a question) How does the compressor know the display is not working or not plugged in??

Inquiring minds want to know.

Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:58 pm
Location: Stronghurst, IL
Motorcycle: 1999 GL 1500 SE

Re: Compressor wont work if display is down.

Postby revtmuller1 » Mon May 02, 2016 9:33 pm

I'm no electronic genius or anything but I remember reading on the forum something about the ground wire for the pump running through the LCD. I'm sure somebody more knowledgeable will either confirm or correct that for you.

User avatar
Posts: 7581
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: Compressor wont work if display is down.

Postby virgilmobile » Tue May 03, 2016 11:40 am

This is correct.If the display computer cannot read the air pressure it will not enable the pump relay.

Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MikeB and 1 guest