97 GL1500 handling and rear wheel alignment

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
Winginggw
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500 Aspencade

97 GL1500 handling and rear wheel alignment

Postby Winginggw » Tue Jul 19, 2016 11:55 am

Hello everyone, forum noob here.

I was hoping someone could offer some help on a problem I am having with my handling and what I think to be a rear wheel alignment problem.
The bike is a 1997 Aspencade with approx. 73,000 miles. When I purchased the bike it had a bad stability problem which I surmised was old rubber and completey wasted rear suspension. After new tires and new Progressive 416's the problem was greatly reduced but still evident.

The problem I have been experiencing is a general inability of the bike to track straight or hold a line in turns. I have replaced steering stem bearings, front and rear wheel bearings, swingarm bearings, rebuit front forks with progressive springs and as mentioned before new 416's in the rear and new tires front and back.

After hours upon hours of internet research I finally decided to "stringline" the rear tire to see if it sits in line with the front, lo and behold I discover that the rear tire is moved over approximately 5-6mm to the right viewed from the rear of the bike. I have attached pictures of the axle to show that when I tighten the rear axle it pulls wheel, spacer, brake caliper mounting bracket and washer over from the left side of the swingarm approx. 5-6mm.