GL1500 radio aux cable "hack" problem


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
Bugmerc
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Tucson
Motorcycle: 1999 GL1500 SE
1976 GL1000

GL1500 radio aux cable "hack" problem

Postby Bugmerc » Tue Aug 16, 2016 4:39 pm



So I used the info I found on here to add an aux cable by soldering it to the places on the internal board of the radio. The problem is with the "dummy" tape I made. I emptied the guts from a cassette tape and the radio recognizes this as a damaged tape and gives me the display of two head to head arrows on my LCD display so it won't play anything. I have tried a few permutations of the dummy tape, with wheels, without wheels etc. The only thing that tells me I hooked it up correctly is, if I put in a good cassette tape, it plays both the tape and my aux source at the same time.

So, do you guys have any idea what's going on? I have considered a few options, one is to play an intact blank cassette but I think I will get a hiss in addition to my aux source. The other is to disconnect the wires to the cassette head, and then play an intact tape, but I don't know if the radio will recognize this and not play because the radio is "damaged".

Thanks for your help!
Chris



User avatar
offcenter
Posts: 202
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:10 pm
Location: Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
Motorcycle: 99 Gl-1500 SE
76 GL-1000
77 Honda Trail 90

Re: GL1500 radio aux cable "hack" problem

Postby offcenter » Tue Aug 16, 2016 5:23 pm

There has GOT to be a better way to do this that bypasses the tape player completely.
I want to add an aux input too, but not so that it still uses the tape player.
George in Jersey.
99 Goldwing GL-1500 SE
76 Goldwing Gl-1000
77 Honda CT-90 "Trail 90"

dadztoy
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: eastern Tennessee
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 HPNAM9

Re: GL1500 radio aux cable "hack" problem

Postby dadztoy » Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:24 pm

try this one - it's the one I did when I had my 1500...

http://www.sheriart.net/honda/

User avatar
Bugmerc
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Tucson
Motorcycle: 1999 GL1500 SE
1976 GL1000

Re: GL1500 radio aux cable "hack" problem

Postby Bugmerc » Tue Aug 16, 2016 7:26 pm

That's the one I used. It won't play with the dummy tape. You didn't have any issues with the dummy tape?

User avatar
ka4yqi
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 2:32 pm
Location: Carrollton, Ga.
Motorcycle: 1998 Goldwing SE
Contact:

Re: GL1500 radio aux cable "hack" problem

Postby ka4yqi » Tue Aug 16, 2016 8:26 pm

Put the wheels back in that pulled the tape and put a rubber band between them. Mine is a 98 model and it just have to see both turn.

User avatar
Bugmerc
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Tucson
Motorcycle: 1999 GL1500 SE
1976 GL1000

Re: GL1500 radio aux cable "hack" problem

Postby Bugmerc » Tue Aug 16, 2016 8:31 pm

Great, I will try that. Thanks!

dadztoy
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: eastern Tennessee
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 HPNAM9

Re: GL1500 radio aux cable "hack" problem

Postby dadztoy » Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:39 pm

Bugmerc wrote:That's the one I used. It won't play with the dummy tape. You didn't have any issues with the dummy tape?


The Sherriart mod with the relay doesn't require a tape...

User avatar
Bugmerc
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Tucson
Motorcycle: 1999 GL1500 SE
1976 GL1000

Re: GL1500 radio aux cable "hack" problem

Postby Bugmerc » Tue Aug 16, 2016 11:11 pm

dadztoy wrote:
Bugmerc wrote:That's the one I used. It won't play with the dummy tape. You didn't have any issues with the dummy tape?


The Sherriart mod with the relay doesn't require a tape...


Oh yeah, you're correct. The one I did is at the bottom of the page I belive. Didn't want to do the relay with the switch, but I may have to. Thanks for reminding me about that one.

User avatar
spiralout
Posts: 1049
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Alabama
Motorcycle: 1975 GL1000 (gone)
1980 GL1100I (with '77 1000 engine)
1996 GL1500 SE

Re: GL1500 radio aux cable "hack" problem

Postby spiralout » Thu Aug 18, 2016 12:43 am

The rubber band connecting the wheels will only last so long before it starts to deteriorate and you'll get the same problem again. A better solution is to get a cheapo aux/cassette adapter at a dollar store, cut the wire off and pull the head out of it. It's wheels will be connected with gears instead. It'll last much longer, if not indefinitely.

User avatar
Bugmerc
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Tucson
Motorcycle: 1999 GL1500 SE
1976 GL1000

Re: GL1500 radio aux cable "hack" problem

Postby Bugmerc » Thu Aug 18, 2016 8:19 am

That's a great suggestion. I tried the rubber band idea and I didn't get the error. I wasn't able to try an aux source because it also turned out that my plug had some issues, so I will replace the plug today and test again. If it all works I will get the adapter cassette as a more permanent solution.
Thanks!

User avatar
ka4yqi
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 2:32 pm
Location: Carrollton, Ga.
Motorcycle: 1998 Goldwing SE
Contact:

Re: GL1500 radio aux cable "hack" problem

Postby ka4yqi » Thu Aug 18, 2016 7:24 pm

Glad the rubber band worked. i have not thought about the cassette adapters. That will work too. This place is just full of ideas. :D




Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GlimWas, MSNbot Media [Bot] and 5 guests