Electrical Problem.

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
garybm
Motorcycle: 1996 GL1500A Aspencade

Electrical Problem.

Postby garybm » Sat Aug 28, 2010 5:58 pm

Hello, I am new to using forums and I hope I explain this well enough for someone to help. I have a 1996 GL1500A that I recently had to replace the battery and tuned it up. I took it out this morning and after riding it about 30 miles it started bogging down and cut off. I tried to start it and it would not turn over and made a clicking noise down by the battery when hitting the starter, I let it sit about 45 minutes it started up and ran another appox 10 miles before the same thing happened. I actually had to get a jump the second time. I got the bike home and started it and removed the ground wire from the battery to see if it would cut off and it did not , suspecting a charging problem. I hope I have not been too confusing.

thrasherg
Motorcycle: 2004 GL1800, 2005 Honda Shadow 750, 2008 Yamaha R6 with RG500 engine, CRF450X, CRF230, CRF250X, XR200, CR500

Re: Electrical Problem.

Postby thrasherg » Sun Aug 29, 2010 11:20 am

From your desription, it does sound like a charging problem. It sounds like when it died the battery was flat. If you leave a battery for a while it will recover a little bit (maybe enough to run the bike for 10 minutes!). I would be geting a multimeter on the battery and measuring the battery voltage with the ignition off, the ignition on and the engine running. With the engine running the volts should be higher than the 2 previous readings and should measure almost 14 volts.. Engine should be reved to 2000rpm or there abouts when measuring the voltage.. If it is lower than 13.3 volts then you need to start debugging your charging system.

Gary

garybm

Postby garybm » Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:09 am