1500 electrical issue


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
tazman
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Dierks, Arkansas
Motorcycle: 1989 Goldwing
1998 Valkyrie

1500 electrical issue

Postby tazman » Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:57 pm



I have a 1989 Goldwing with 255000 miles on it, I bought it used with 40,000 miles on it. I ride to work most days, and yesterday I rode to work, and the instrumet panel, headlight, tachometer tail lights all worked, but when I started home, no headlight, no lights on instrument panel, no tach, no fuel guage or temp guage, not taillight. The bike starts and runs fine, the turn signals and emergency flashers work, the lcd with clock and presets work, radio works. All of that being said, can someone point me in the direction I need to start looking first. I checked the main fuse, and all the other fuses on the left side of the bike, and they are all fine.

Thanks in advance for any information.

Tazman



User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7655
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: 1500 electrical issue

Postby virgilmobile » Wed Sep 29, 2010 3:28 pm

Sorry i don't know much about the 1500,however electric is easy for me.Get a 12volt test probe.I suggest this over a volt meter because it will apply a small load to the circuit under test.All circuits require power and ground.Turn on the light,probe each wire.No 12volt ? It's a source problem,12volt on both ? It's A ground..When using the probe,connect the ground direct to the battery.This will eliminate any poor ground testing.Current draw through a corroded connector does not work well.Hope this helps.

tazman
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Dierks, Arkansas
Motorcycle: 1989 Goldwing
1998 Valkyrie

Re: 1500 electrical issue

Postby tazman » Thu Sep 30, 2010 2:14 pm

I appreciate your help with this Virgilmobile, I will give that a try. I have done a little more reading, and am beginning to think it might be the #3 relay (main relay), so I am going to try these two things and see if one works.

Thanks again for the information

Tazman


Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RBGERSON and 9 guests