Reinstalling all the painted plastic- fairing- luggage etc

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
Motorcycle: 1991 GL1500 Interstate

Reinstalling all the painted plastic- fairing- luggage etc

Postby Dreamcatcher » Tue Nov 16, 2010 2:06 pm

Hello Everyone,
I hope I'm posting in the right place. This is my first time on this site as I just purchased a '91 Goldwing 1500 Interstate last night. I hope I didn't bite off more than I can chew. The owner passed away shortly after taking off ALL the painted plastic outer shell. He planned on painting it a different color (now gold) but had a massive heart attack before starting paint. I picked up a rolling chassis with motor intack (runs great) and 6 boxes of plastic. There are wires hanging all over the place. That's not too scary because I should be able to marry matching connectors. I don't have a clue where to start reassembling, top, bottom, front, or back. I work on my Harleys all the time but it's big difference when you take it appart yourself. Are there any books or better yet any videos that I can access for HELP! Any guidance will be greatly appreciated.
PS: Is there a better place to post my plea for help?

Motorcycle: 2012 Goldwing Airbag

Re: Reinstalling all the painted plastic- fairing- luggage e

Postby Len » Tue Nov 16, 2010 7:55 pm

I don't think you'll have any problems. First, I would suggest you get a shop manual and access to the online GL1500 parts diagrams. The various fasteners can be confusing, but the parts descriptions will help. The manual shows all the wiring and the proper routing, which is important with the audio circuits. Good Luck!

Motorcycle: 1976 gl1000
1993 gl1500
2004 NRX1800 Rune

Postby dingdong » Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:16 am

Good suggestion above. You will absolutely have to have a manual to do this properly and in the correct sequence.