GL1500 clock won't keep time


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
dmarble
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:07 pm
Location: Gaines, Michigan
Motorcycle: 1996 GL1500SE
1982 CBX
1975 CB360T

GL1500 clock won't keep time

Postby dmarble » Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:20 pm



I have a '96 SE and this season I've noticed the clock will lose time when the ignition is off. Sometimes it will do it after a day, other times it takes being unused for a week to happen. I have checked the aux fuse in the relay box on the left side, and it is fine. Does this mean I have to change out the LCD panel to fix this, or is there something else to check? The Honda manual does not address this problem. Thanks!



Ralph Zimmerman
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:31 am
Location: Blue Ridge, SC
Motorcycle: 88 Gl1500
03 Vtx 1800r
04 VT 750 Areo

Re: GL1500 clock won't keep time

Postby Ralph Zimmerman » Thu Sep 17, 2009 7:15 pm

Hi
There is a 5 amp fuse in the breaker box not the fuse box, on the 90s wings that control the clock voltage with the ing off. on 88-89 wings it is on the right side just in frt of the rear shock in a small fuse holder with just 2 fuses in it.

Good Luck

dmarble
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:07 pm
Location: Gaines, Michigan
Motorcycle: 1996 GL1500SE
1982 CBX
1975 CB360T

Re: GL1500 clock won't keep time

Postby dmarble » Tue Oct 13, 2009 1:19 pm

Thanks. I'm finally getting back to this. Breaker box? Not sure to what you are referring, but I will take a look in my service manual and see if I can locate it. Thanks for your info!

Dave

01 winger
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:21 pm
Location: cedar bluff va.
Motorcycle: 1996 gl1500se

Re: GL1500 clock won't keep time

Postby 01 winger » Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:53 pm

Its on the left side i changed the 5amp fuse my clock works fine now.thanks for info.

User avatar
Sleepy939
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 8:51 am
Location: Hinesville
Motorcycle: 95 Kawasaki 750 Vulcan
96 Honda GL1500A

Re: GL1500 clock won't keep time

Postby Sleepy939 » Sat Nov 14, 2009 8:56 am

My 96 GL1500 was doing the same thing. I found the 6 pin plug on the back of the radio was the culprit. I took a dental tool and tightened the pins and cleaned them with electrical cleaner. Put it back together and it has been working.




Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Chad56, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], wingdings and 4 guests