1500 1991 Cruise Control problem


Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
callieh
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:49 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Motorcycle: Goldwing 1500 SE, V-Strom DL1000 1994, Yamaha Virago 750, 1989

1500 1991 Cruise Control problem

Postby callieh » Tue Jun 21, 2011 3:02 am



Hi ANy-one that can help ?

I've read MANY articles about this problem but with no joy.

My 1500 SE cruise control ONLY works up to 80 KILOMETERS per hour. Note : Not MILES, KILOMETERS. And I don't know how to fix it ?

Many articles will tell you how to "fix" it to do more than 80 MILES per hour - but that is not what the probem is here.

Any suggestions ?



User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7660
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: 1500 1991 Cruise Control problem

Postby virgilmobile » Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:17 am

I've not researched this,but If there is a "fix" for a cruise control speed limiter,It should not matter to the computer if it's Km or Miles.It's only counting wheel pulses and controlling engine rpm.When it reaches a preset limit it cuts off.

Just a thought.But there I go trying to think again.

callieh
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:49 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Motorcycle: Goldwing 1500 SE, V-Strom DL1000 1994, Yamaha Virago 750, 1989

Re: 1500 1991 Cruise Control problem

Postby callieh » Tue Jun 21, 2011 9:12 am

virgilmobile wrote:I've not researched this,but If there is a "fix" for a cruise control speed limiter,It should not matter to the computer if it's Km or Miles.It's only counting wheel pulses and controlling engine rpm.When it reaches a preset limit it cuts off.

Just a thought.But there I go trying to think again.


The "fix" is merely to turn to swop the gear indicator wires for 4th and 5th gear around so that the sensor thinks it is in 4th gear when it actually is in 5th, and that inturn makes the cruise control achieve higher speeds. This fix is used to speed up from 80 MILES to more than 80 MILES - which is approx 120 km anyway.

My problem is that the sensor works on the engine speed in KILOMETRES and not even in MILES and therefore there should be some other type of fix or problem !

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7660
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: 1500 1991 Cruise Control problem

Postby virgilmobile » Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:06 pm

Thank you for helping me understand.I will look into the control method and see if I can come up with a bypass method.No guarantee,but I'll check it out.
I wonder if the cruise control gets it's speed information from?The engine or the speedometer and if that signal can be modified with a pulse divider circuit.
Something like this...cut the sensor wire,input to a divide by 2 circuit,output back to the computer.
Make it think it's going half the speed you are actually going?
Attachments

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: 1500 1991 Cruise Control problem

Postby WingAdmin » Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:47 pm

I was thinking the exact same thing - but by default, it works between 30 and 80 mph. If you halve the perceived speed, it will then work between 60 and 160 mph - so if you want to have it cruise at less than 60 mph, you'll be out of luck.

callieh
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:49 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Motorcycle: Goldwing 1500 SE, V-Strom DL1000 1994, Yamaha Virago 750, 1989

Re: 1500 1991 Cruise Control problem

Postby callieh » Wed Jun 22, 2011 7:04 am

According to the articles I've read it gets the info from the engine speed and not the speedometer.

Still can't understand why mybike specifically have a problem in KILOMETERS and not in MILES. Although, must admit, the speedometer is in kilometres, and hence that might be a standard factory fitting - or somebody in the factory that thought 80 km/h and 80 miles/h are the same....

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17050
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: 1500 1991 Cruise Control problem

Postby WingAdmin » Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:13 am

callieh wrote:According to the articles I've read it gets the info from the engine speed and not the speedometer


Right, which is why it also needs to know what gear it's in. If it was taking the speed from the driveshaft or wheel itself, it wouldn't care what gear it's in.

It's odd that your bike is setting cruise limits in KM - is it exactly 80 km/h that it won't set above?

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7660
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: 1500 1991 Cruise Control problem

Postby virgilmobile » Wed Jun 22, 2011 12:25 pm

WingAdmin wrote:I was thinking the exact same thing - but by default, it works between 30 and 80 mph. If you halve the perceived speed, it will then work between 60 and 160 mph - so if you want to have it cruise at less than 60 mph, you'll be out of luck.


OK,if we go by his say,the cruise drops off at 80kph and starts at 30kph that would translate to 48mph and 18mph.If the pulse were halved that would put the range at 60kpm to 120kph or 36 mph to 72mph.

I think his bike cruise operates at the same numbers,It's just kph instead of mph.b

Did I do that right?

callieh
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:49 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Motorcycle: Goldwing 1500 SE, V-Strom DL1000 1994, Yamaha Virago 750, 1989

Re: 1500 1991 Cruise Control problem

Postby callieh » Wed Jun 22, 2011 12:37 pm

WingAdmin wrote:
callieh wrote:According to the articles I've read it gets the info from the engine speed and not the speedometer


Right, which is why it also needs to know what gear it's in. If it was taking the speed from the driveshaft or wheel itself, it wouldn't care what gear it's in.

It's odd that your bike is setting cruise limits in KM - is it exactly 80 km/h that it won't set above?


Yes it set at exactly 80 km/h.

I'm flabbergasted that I can tell you !

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7660
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: 1500 1991 Cruise Control problem

Postby virgilmobile » Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:47 pm

OK,then if your cruise only operates within the 30kmh to 80kph (18mph to 48 mph).The why not modify the pulse from the engine to the cruise with a divide by 2 counter?Wouldn't that effectively lead the cruise to think your cruising within the range of 30-80kph when in fact you are running 60-160kph?Or here it would be 36-96 mph instead of 18-48 mph.

If this idea is correct then look at the signal on the crank speed output wire to determine the voltage,pulse type,etc to see if it can divided by 2.I suspect it will switch between 1 volt and 4.5 volt DC.The power supply for the divider ic will need to be at the same(within 10%)of the max switching voltage.
Attachments

User avatar
virgilmobile
Posts: 7660
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: Denham Springs,La.
Motorcycle: 1988 GL1500 I
Previously owned
78 GL1000
81 GL1100
82 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 I
83 GL1100 standard
84 GL 1200 I

Re: 1500 1991 Cruise Control problem

Postby virgilmobile » Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:21 pm

Here's a untested schematic that would divide by 2 " IF " the engine pulse goes from 1 to 4.5 volt range.It uses a 5 volt regulator assuming that is what the components operate on in the cruise module and no way to tap off it.

Please don't take this as a professional designed fix for your problem,It's just my personal ideas to try.Obviously I don't have this equipment to experiment on,just basic computer control system analysis.So do test it first to determine suitability and other modifications you may need.

We will try to help as best as we can.
Keep us up to date on what you find please.
Attachments




Return to “GL1500 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bluewaterhooker0 and 5 guests