Markland heel/toe shifter

Information and questions on GL1500 Goldwings (1988-2000)
  • Sponsored Links
Okayamapiper
Motorcycle: 1999 GL1500SE
1993 ST1100 ABS/TCS
1995 ST1100P
1983 Kawasaki 440LTD
1976 CB750F

Markland heel/toe shifter

Postby Okayamapiper » Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:51 am

I have a Markland low boy heel/toe shifter on my bike as I tore my calf muscle over the holidays and have difficulty shifting up. The best thing would be to park the bike until healed but as I commute by bike I have to ride. As I am new to this type of shifter and nobody around me has used one, I was wondering if it is okay to keep my foot on the shifter at all time or only put my foot on it when shifting. The brake side has a heel rest but there is nothing like that on the left side. Any input would be helpful.

dingdong
Motorcycle: 1976 gl1000
1993 gl1500
2004 NRX1800 Rune

Re: Markland heel/toe shifter

Postby dingdong » Wed Jan 11, 2012 9:51 am

Your best bet would be to convert the heel/toe back to original foot pegs. I would never ride with my toe on the shifter. Constant pressure will surely cause premature wear and inadvertent shifting. Hit a bump and cause a down shift. Not good.
Tom

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Okayamapiper
1993 ST1100 ABS/TCS
1995 ST1100P
1983 Kawasaki 440LTD
1976 CB750F

Postby Okayamapiper » Wed Jan 11, 2012 7:54 pm

dingdong wrote:Your best bet would be to convert the heel/toe back to original foot pegs. I would never ride with my toe on the shifter. Constant pressure will surely cause premature wear and inadvertent shifting. Hit a bump and cause a down shift. Not good.

I thank you for the advice but this would not be an option due to the injured calf muscle. As for riding with the foot on the shifter causing undue wear, that is sound advice and was what I was looking for. Thank you.

WINGRIDER345
Motorcycle: 1989 GL1500