RADIATOR FANS INOPERATIVE

Information and questions on GL1800 Goldwings (2001-Present)
  • Sponsored Links
pietvlieg
Motorcycle: 2006 GL1800

RADIATOR FANS INOPERATIVE

Postby pietvlieg » Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:28 pm

Please help!! My 2006 Goldwing cooling 1800 fans are inoperative. In city trafic the bike tend to overheat. I studied the 2001 manual, trouble shooting, on the fans and decided on replacing the enjine coolant temperature sensor (ECT) without success. Because there's a differance in wiring and wire colours and the position of relays between the 2001 and 2006 models, its quite difficult to trace the culprit. If someone maybe have a 2006 manual and can perhaps publish the TROUBLESHOOTING on the fans, so I can try to sort it out. Thanks PIET VLIEG.

WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: RADIATOR FANS INOPERATIVE

Postby WingAdmin » Wed Oct 17, 2012 2:08 pm

I haven't got a 2006 manual, but the first thing I would try is to check the fuse for the fans. If the fuse is OK, swap the fan control relay with another known good relay. That will tell you if the relay is bad. If the fans still don't operate with a good relay in the fan control relay slot, get a voltmeter out and check the fan control relay socket:

1. Looking at the diagram, with the ignition ON, insert a wire between contacts number 1 and 2 on the relay socket. Determine if the fans come on when you do this. If the fans come on, go to step 2. If the fans do not come on, go to step 4.

2. Run the engine until the engine is hot, and the fans should be running. Using a multimeter, check the voltage between contacts number 3 and 4 on the relay socket. You should measure 12 volts when the ECU is calling for the fans to come on.