Reverse Slips

Information and questions on GL1800 Goldwings (2001-Present)
  • Sponsored Links
maximum130
Motorcycle: 2005 GL1800 Goldwing

Reverse Slips

Postby maximum130 » Fri Feb 22, 2013 6:31 pm

My 2005 GL1800 has started to slip in reverse. When I engage the reverse the bike starts to backup, but then it slips. You can here the starter spinning and the sound of it trying to catch again. It happened once and never again for a few months and then now it happens quite often. I am not a pro mechanic, so this is a little out of my comfort zone. The electrical seems to be working correctly. I am thinking it is a mechanical problem with either a misalignment, spring tension or cables needing to be tightened. Any ideas?

Thank you

redial
Motorcycle: 1997 GL1500 Spectre Red Aspencade

Re: Reverse Slips

Postby redial » Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:01 pm

I have no experience with an 1800, however, try adjusting the cables, as it sounds like they may have stretched a bit or just got out of alignment as wear and tear takes place. While you are in there, get some electrical contact cleaner (from Radio Shack or other favourite electrical stockist), and use that to clean the switch itself. If you havent got a manual, get one. You can use this site to find something that should assist, and look in the "How-to Articles" for similar. If you get stuck, ask again, and someone with better knowledge will chime in, I am sure.
Len in Kapunda

The world is not going to finish today, as it is already tomorrow in Australia and New Zealand, and other islands of foreign nations such as Guam and Samoa.

WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Postby WingAdmin » Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:51 pm

Is it just letting go and spinning, or is it grinding?

I'm with you in the first thing I would look at is cable tension, and fortunately that's relatively easy to check and adjust.