CB audio input

Information and questions on GL1800 Goldwings (2001-Present)
  • Sponsored Links
firemedic510
Motorcycle: 2008 GL1800

CB audio input

Postby firemedic510 » Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:57 am

Hi folks!

I have an 08 GL1800. I want to route audio from a radio scanner through the CB audio input. I don't have a CB and am not getting one, so that seems the place to do this. I use the AUX input for my ipod (which works just fine). My questions are:

1. Does the CB audio "override" the other sources? So, when someone transmits, the CB audio comes in over the radio/aux etc, cutting that audio source off temporarily?
2. Anybody have a source for the CB connector harness, as to which pins/wires are the audio input?

I don't need to get fancy with this, just just want the scanner output audio to come in over the ipod (AUX) whenever something is transmitted on there.

I am a volunteer firefighter, and there is no good way to carry (or hear) my handheld radio on the bike when i am riding it. I would like to at least hear what is going on with my department when i am out. I am not looking for a way to wire in two-way coms, just using a plain-jane scanner to monitor the fire dept frequency and put that audio out to the bike.

Thanks!

thrasherg
Motorcycle: 2004 GL1800, 2005 Honda Shadow 750, 2008 Yamaha R6 with RG500 engine, CRF450X, CRF230, CRF250X, XR200, CR500

Re: CB audio input

Postby thrasherg » Mon Apr 19, 2010 10:20 am

I don't know what the pin connections for the CB are, but my CB overides the music.

gareva1
Motorcycle: 2008 GL1800 Prem Audio

Postby gareva1 » Mon Apr 19, 2010 10:30 am

firemedic510 wrote:Hi folks!

I have an 08 GL1800. I want to route audio from a radio scanner through the CB audio input. I don't have a CB and am not getting one, so that seems the place to do this. I use the AUX input for my ipod (which works just fine). My questions are: