2002 Goldwing GL1800 Possible Transmission Problems or OTHER

Information and questions on GL1800 Goldwings (2001-Present)
  • Sponsored Links
TopGunPilot
Motorcycle: 2002 Honda Goldwing GL1800

2002 Goldwing GL1800 Possible Transmission Problems or OTHER

Postby TopGunPilot » Sun Jul 06, 2014 12:07 am

This issue is about possible transmission problems after reading about many Goldwings that have had transmission problems as soon as 6,000 miles on them. This is ridiculous! Honda needs to wake up and smell the roses before I go back to Harley!

I have read every document on every forum that I can find but there does not seem to be a “Direct Answer” from very many people who have had this exact issue yet.

I have been riding bikes for almost 50 years. I started on a Mini Bike, then Yamaha 80, then Honda CB100, CB350, Nighhawk, Harley Sportster, Harley Ultra Classic and now this Honda Goldwing that was suppose to be made like a tank. The more I think about it, the bigger piece of junk I own.

I don’t speed shift. I am not hard on it. I drive the way I need to drive on the highway to stay alive and I don’t hammer it. I drive it like every other Road Captain in GWRRA drive their Goldwings. I’ve been through the BRC class and 3 ARC classes with it with no problems. But as soon as it got close to 100,000 miles, WHAM, BAM, Thank you Mam!

A few days a month, I might take the back roads to and from my destination but mostly it is all highway driving up to 90 miles maximum one way with a total of 200 in one day over the last year.

So in the last 12 months, I have only put 10,000 miles on it.

First a little history of the maintenance. I bought my 2002 Goldwing Gl1800 in May 2009 with 26,000 miles on it. The first time the Dealer mentioned the Powerhouse Advantage Plan to me, I bought it and have kept it up ever since so the Routine Maintenance has been like clockwork. If you think driving a Goldwing is cheap, think again.