2012 Audio Fuses


Information and questions on GL1800 Goldwings (2001-Present)
  • Sponsored Links
Post Reply
VegasVic
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:40 pm
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Motorcycle: 2012 GL 1800

2012 Audio Fuses

Post by VegasVic » Sat Dec 13, 2014 5:53 pm



I have been trying to chase down cause of no audio on my 12 Wing. I've had people tell me there are 2 fuses for the audio, but I only see one in the box.
There is a large black fuse marked external amp at the bottom, doesn't seem to want to come out.
Can anyone tell me if there are 2 and where is the 2nd? Thanks.



User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 17796
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: 2012 Audio Fuses

Post by WingAdmin » Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:38 am

I don't have a 2012 diagram, so I'm going to hope the latest one I have (2008) is the same. In any case, there are a few you want to check out - confirm with your manual for the fuse numbers locations in case the 2012 is different.

You want to check the Battery fuse, Radio fuse, and the Power Amp fuse, as shown below:
GL1800 Radio Fuses
GL1800 Radio Fuses

User avatar
baumedagn
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 4:38 am
Location: Lexington, SC
Motorcycle: 2012
GL1800HPNM

Re: 2012 Audio Fuses

Post by baumedagn » Mon Dec 15, 2014 4:25 pm

It would seem odd to me that on a bike that new that a fuse would fail. You don't say if the unit comes on, or you just can't hear any sound. Have you checked to see that the mute button didn't accidently become engaged? Grandchildren........ Or perhaps the cb radio squelch (if so equipped).

VegasVic
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:40 pm
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Motorcycle: 2012 GL 1800

Re: 2012 Audio Fuses

Post by VegasVic » Wed Dec 17, 2014 10:12 pm

Thanks, Does that large rectangular fuse main external amp just pull out ?
My audio does not come on at all, No indication in the Nav Screen, for Audioj Aux Cb nothing, I've checked all the buttons and went so far as to disconnect the passenger PTt,
NOTHING works. My navigation works fine but has no audio.

VatosPapa
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 12:50 pm
Location: Gulfport, Florida
Motorcycle: 2012 Honda Goldwing
2008 Suzuki Hayabusa

Re: 2012 Audio Fuses

Post by VatosPapa » Mon Dec 29, 2014 8:51 pm

Did you see the previous answer to your question about the MUTE button possibly pushed?

VegasVic
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:40 pm
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Motorcycle: 2012 GL 1800

Re: 2012 Audio Fuses

Post by VegasVic » Tue Dec 30, 2014 7:30 pm

Yes, I have checked the mute button many times. Did you see my reply?
NOTHING SHOWS UP ON THE NAVI SCREEN when I try to turn on the Audio, CB, Navi, Aux etc. Nothing!
Have checked fuses, buttons, disconnected PTT switch under the seat, checked connections in trunk, everything I can think of.
I will be taking it into the shop in a week or so.

VegasVic
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:40 pm
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Motorcycle: 2012 GL 1800

Re: 2012 Audio Fuses

Post by VegasVic » Mon Jan 19, 2015 1:40 am

Audio Update, bike in the shop, problem with no audio turns out to be the audio unit under the shell being dead. Mechanic, after trouble shooting many things I already checked, switched out the unit with one from another bike, and all audio functions back to normal. Now waiting for the ok from the warranty co. to get a new unit.

User avatar
supershoe
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:47 am
Location: scotland uk
Motorcycle: 1989 gl1500se

Re: 2012 Audio Fuses

Post by supershoe » Mon Feb 20, 2017 4:07 am

Pretty sure all the MP3 changer devices can do this, occasionally. Low battery voltage is one issue but more often bumping the ADL SEL/RDM button on our radio will do it every time (hopefully you only do it once!). Mine has done it 3 times... 1. ADL SEL/RDM 2. Changing the USB drive while powered up and 3. Running all my electronics and powered up my fog lights with the highbeams on at idle! Low voltage this last time. Generally the only way to reset the radio with these connected is shut down the bike, pull fuses 20 &21 and the connector from the MP3 changer device. It takes a couple minutes for the radio to reset, if you have to reprogram your radio channels you succeeded. Of course just try just turning everything off for a minute first. Also I've had partial lockups if I flip through the tracks too quick - it frustrates the player, but you can still get back to FM.



Post Reply



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest