Getting a "New" 2008 ABS--MX help/insight

Information and questions on GL1800 Goldwings (2001-Present)
  • Sponsored Links
mobe
Motorcycle: 2008 GL1800 ABS Red Metallic

Getting a "New" 2008 ABS--MX help/insight

Postby mobe » Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:48 pm

Hello,

Goldwingers. I have just taken a jump to the "far side". :D I am in the process of trading in my Harley for a new 0 miles 2008 GoldWing ABS. I have not yet picked it up or finished the Final paperwork.

I have a bunch of questions but for my first post on this thread I'll keep it hopefully a simple one.

Here goes. Talking to the Finance person on the phone. I was offered all the usual stuff. Warranty, Paint protectant, and something called a Maintenance Plan.

The Maintenance Plan price is $999.00 for 3 years. Long story short........Should I do this?? I've been doing the Harley thing for 13 years and do my own stuff in my home garage. However, obviously the Honda thing is a tad different. I have no concept of the Maintenance required, necessary or preventive, with Hondas. Is the $999.00 worth it??

I live in the Phoenix, AZ area. I have heard of a non-Honda shop out here that works on Hondas and supposedly is where "everyone" takes their bike.

Any ideas/perspectives would be appreciated.

Thanks, Mobe

Keyboard
Motorcycle: 2010 GL1800

Re: Getting a "New" 2008 ABS--MX help/insight

Postby Keyboard » Tue Jul 20, 2010 7:21 am

Personally, I think all maintenance plans and extended warranties for the Gold Wing is a waste of money. The maintenance on the Gold Wing is easy and very few things go wrong that would require a dealer to fix. If you've done work on your Harley's, then you'll love the ease of working on your Gold Wing, as well as the little maintenance that is required.