Operating GPS while moving, GL1800


Information and questions on GL1800 Goldwings (2001-Present)
  • Sponsored Links
joestone
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Clanton, AL
Motorcycle: 2010 Honda Goldwing

Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby joestone » Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:31 am



Is there a way or method to use in order to be able to turn on or operate my GPS while riding. I have a 2010 model Gold Wing, 1800 ? Alabama Honda Rider...



User avatar
thrasherg
Posts: 1837
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:21 am
Location: Plano, TX
Motorcycle: 2004 GL1800, 2005 Honda Shadow 750, 2008 Yamaha R6 with RG500 engine, CRF450X, CRF230, CRF250X, XR200, CR500

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby thrasherg » Sat Sep 10, 2011 11:19 am

I have heard of riders fitting a switch to isolate the speedo sensor from the GPS, that way it doesn't think the bike is moving and allows you to use the menu's but you want to reconnect the speedo afterwards as the GPS does use the speedo sensor to estimate speed and distances when it's lost the GPS signal (in tunnels, etc). They use a switch so you can flick the switch, use the menus, then flick the switch back and have all capabilities back. If you do a search on this site you should find something about it.

Gary

User avatar
Sally
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:25 am
Location: Dundee,NY
Motorcycle: 02 goldwing

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby Sally » Sun Sep 11, 2011 7:16 pm

There is enough people driving and not paying attention on four wheels.Honda did this for a reason SAFTEY... Just a thought.... SAlly

joestone
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Clanton, AL
Motorcycle: 2010 Honda Goldwing

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby joestone » Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:50 am

Sally,
I understand what you are saying, but on occasions after making a short stop and then getting back on the road and at the same time forgetting to activate my GPS, I have to pull over just to get it working. I, probably more than you know, realize it can be a possible hazard. I do appreciate your comment...
Thanks,
Joe

User avatar
themainviking
Posts: 2579
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:59 pm
Location: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 AD

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby themainviking » Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:26 am

I remember reading something about over riding the GPS restrictions by using wiring from the reverse button, which will not operate to activate the reverse system while moving forward. A search involving the reverse switch may obtain results.
It ain't about the destination - it's all about the journey

ImageImage

joestone
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Clanton, AL
Motorcycle: 2010 Honda Goldwing

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby joestone » Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:48 am

themainviking wrote:I remember reading something about over riding the GPS restrictions by using wiring from the reverse button, which will not operate to activate the reverse system while moving forward. A search involving the reverse switch may obtain results.


Hi themainviking,
Thanks for the information, I'll research the possibility. Joe

User avatar
dragon2000
Posts: 177
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 8:30 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Motorcycle: 2009 Gold Wing
2000 Honda Valkyrie
Contact:

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby dragon2000 » Mon Sep 12, 2011 7:43 pm

I understand what you are saying Joe with it being a nuisance after stopping and realizing that your forgot to activate the Nav System. This is especially frustrating after getting on to an Interstate/major highway.

The above has happened to me on a number of occasions. Most recently during my trip to Deals Gap last month. The option I went with that saved me was mounting my Garmin Zumo 550 which is very forgiving and versatile. To be honest, I wish my 2009 GW had this system due to it's capabilities and being so user friendly.

I also fully agree with your comments Sally. There is nothing more mind boggling that a distracted driver.

Steve
Steve

Dragon2000

Remember - You Meet the Nicest People Riding a Honda!

Image

Ontario, Canada

User avatar
Sally
Posts: 421
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:25 am
Location: Dundee,NY
Motorcycle: 02 goldwing

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby Sally » Wed Sep 14, 2011 7:37 am

Yeah I understand some times I do thing that are not to safe!!!! I wish you could adjust the rear shock while moving.. Years ago you could but not now... Sally

User avatar
frostypop
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:54 pm
Location: Meade, Kansas
Motorcycle: 2006 GL1800

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby frostypop » Sun Oct 09, 2011 5:42 pm

i do not use my bikes gps much, because i had bought the garmin zumo for my other bike and kept it for this one. but what i have used of it, i was thinking when i forgot to restart it i just hit the display button, am i wrong in thinking this? 8-)

joestone
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Clanton, AL
Motorcycle: 2010 Honda Goldwing

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby joestone » Sun Oct 09, 2011 8:51 pm

Frostypop,
You are wrong and correct. If you just hit the display button the bike has to be sitting still. If in fact you are moving you cannot activate the G.P.S. I know this was done for a safety reason, but in fact it does cause a problem. What I'm referring to is, If you take off and get on the expressway without activating the G.P.S., it cannot be activated unless you pull off of the road and stop completely - only then can it be activated. I truly understand that it is highly unsafe to try and operate it while riding, I just wanted to be able to activate it without having to pull off the road especially when there are several of us riding.
Joe, Clanton - Alabama

jbcarburetors
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:38 am
Location: Redding, CA 96002
Motorcycle: 1994 gl1800, 2003 Harley FXD

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby jbcarburetors » Mon Oct 10, 2011 11:16 am

...go to the mountguys.com and do what I did, I bought the kit to mount it my handle bars, the shade cover and all. These people got it all. You do have to get a shade cover. I have a Tom Tom XL 325SE.

User avatar
frostypop
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:54 pm
Location: Meade, Kansas
Motorcycle: 2006 GL1800

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby frostypop » Mon Oct 10, 2011 5:06 pm

thanks for that input, i guess i will have to play with my gps a little more. like i said i have a garmin so that is what i use. i can take it in the house or hotel room and plan my route or change it. and from what i have read it is expensive to update the one on the bike. i bought a lifetime for my garmin for what one time is on the bike. which i don't think we should have to pay for any updates for what the things cost. 8-)

User avatar
themainviking
Posts: 2579
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:59 pm
Location: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 AD

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby themainviking » Tue Oct 11, 2011 7:37 am

Well, supposedly, expensive for the 2006 to 2008 US and 2006 to 2010 CDN just changed. Garmin is updating the firmware AND maps to end 2010 and will enable the CF card units to use NT maps now, all for $95, and started shipping the beginning of October, 2011. Now, if you can make an "UNLOCKED IMG file" from your map updates, you will be able to continue to update the maps into the forseeable future. I have ordered one, and will let Y'All know how it goes when it gets here, including my attempts to update the maps to August 2011 from a lifetime update subscription. This is a definite change from the $258 that Honda wanted for just the latest maps update (one year older and not NT) for the CF carded units. A lot of us made a lot of noise, which seems to have paid off in spades, but we shall see what we shall see, and then we shall report it..... here.
It ain't about the destination - it's all about the journey

ImageImage

User avatar
frostypop
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:54 pm
Location: Meade, Kansas
Motorcycle: 2006 GL1800

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby frostypop » Tue Oct 11, 2011 4:58 pm

well i played with the gps a little more and i see what you all have been talking about, not being able to go to the map without stopping the bike. i think they could have made it to were you could go to the map while moving and the destination you was going to, but not do anything else as far as changing your destination or adding a stop and so on. if i was using it all the time i think i would be looking for something that would let me do that. 8-)

User avatar
Keyboard
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 8:59 am
Location: Owings Mills, MD
Motorcycle: 2010 GL1800

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby Keyboard » Tue Oct 11, 2011 5:13 pm

I'm with you Frostypop. Most times I just want to continue my route, but have to stop the damn bike. Other times I just want to see the map of the roads ... nothing more.
My Bike Collection:
2010 Gold Wing + 2004 Rune, 2011 R1200RT, & 2011 Road King Classic

User avatar
themainviking
Posts: 2579
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:59 pm
Location: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 AD

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby themainviking » Thu Oct 13, 2011 6:13 am

We have NT mapping for the CF carded NAVI units - go here for info:

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=8817
It ain't about the destination - it's all about the journey

ImageImage

User avatar
themainviking
Posts: 2579
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:59 pm
Location: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 AD

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby themainviking » Fri Oct 14, 2011 7:58 am

To use the NAV while moving, there has been a post on a "nav mod". Just search that term.
It ain't about the destination - it's all about the journey

ImageImage

User avatar
MikeB
Posts: 1223
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 12:54 pm
Location: Tacoma, WA
Motorcycle: 1998 - GL1500 Aspencade.
2003 - GL1800A

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby MikeB » Sun Oct 16, 2011 1:36 pm

MikeB
Tacoma, WA, USA

joestone
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 10:39 pm
Location: Clanton, AL
Motorcycle: 2010 Honda Goldwing

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby joestone » Sun Oct 16, 2011 3:05 pm

MikeB wrote:Go here --->> viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4837

Hey Mike,
I found the information by using the Hyper-link you posted, thanks. It will be sometime this winter when I apply the change, but I'll let you know about the outcome...
Joe

AC DOCTOR
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 9:12 pm
Location: macclenny florida
Motorcycle: 2015 goldwing

Re: Operating GPS while moving, GL1800

Postby AC DOCTOR » Tue Oct 18, 2016 9:23 pm

To activate gps while underway ,, at speed pull in clutch , turn key to acc position , press display button , press enter button 4 times within 3 seconds , go back to on position with key , dump the clutch or restart .




Return to “GL1800 Information & Questions”




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests