traffic light stop/wait/go best practice?

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
OldguyGlen
Motorcycle: 1980 GL1100 STD/Vetters
1966 Honda 90

traffic light stop/wait/go best practice?

Post by OldguyGlen »

Still getting comfortable on the GL1100. Heavier than previous bikes.
I can flat foot with both feet. Do you put only 1 foot down, or both on a routine stop. Clutch in, or neutral with clutch engaged? Hold the bike still with front or rear brake while waiting?
Any other technique suggestions? Thanks.

agedbikeman
Motorcycle: 1995 GL1500 Aspencade with Insta trike
2014 Can-Am Spyder RT

Re: traffic light stop/wait/go best practice?

Post by agedbikeman »

Like you I'm new to the goldwing, I can't flatfoot, only 5ft 4in 28in inseam, acording to what I've seen on youtube, you're suposed to come to a final halt with the foot brake only, as they claim it makes the bike stop straighter, but I can't always get that right and a last second wobble I put both feet down, also take into account the camber always foot down on the high side as the low side will usually cause a drop.
I'm no expert on this I'm only expressing my opinion, I always stop in first gear and hold it there as a traffic light change, lifting legs up and down on the quick would cause me to drop the bike, I have to plan every leg movement, but I've only had the wing 1 week and been riding a trike for 3 years so I'm back to learning again, also not had a manual clutch bike since 30 years.

Have a look on youtube there's some really usful training videos about heavy bikes.

Regards and happy riding
Alex (aged bike man)

AZgl1800
Motorcycle: '02 GL1800
2009 Piaggio MP3 250cc

Post by AZgl1800 »

at traffic lights, if I am NOT in front, I make it a point to stay back about one car length, and pointed towards the Best Escape Route, so as to keep the traffic behind me in view, and don't allow them to crash into you.