New to Goldwings

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
mtbishop1995
Motorcycle: 1983 GL1100 interstate

New to Goldwings

Post by mtbishop1995 »

Good morning,
My name is Mark. I am new to this , . I am at a point of making a choice. I have ridden bikes for a long time, sold my last one, a Harley, 2 years ago. I want another bike. I am 60 years old, a master certified auto mechanic who sold my shop 5 years ago and now manages an auto parts store. I am looking at 2 1983 Goldwing Interstates. They have not run in 2 years. They look decent, have been kept inside. I can buy both for 1000. What are experienced Goldwing owners thoughts, Should I do it or just buy another cruiser? I know it is my call, just wanting some input.
Thanks, Mark

Viking
Motorcycle: 2009 GL1800 AD
1987 Harley Softail Custom
1974 Harley FLH (sold)
1965 Harley FLHE (sold)
1957 Harley Chopper (sold)

Re: New to Goldwings

Post by Viking »

Realizing that these two Goldwings are likely going to need some work, as they are 37 years old, they are still a pretty fine motorcycle. I rode Harleys for 47 years, till tendonitis cut me down to under a thousand miles a year. Then a friend talked me into a Goldwing. WOW is all I can say from then to now. I am now into my 10th year of riding a Goldwing and I have 92K on it. The first year, I managed to clock up over 20K, and it was the best year of my life. I rode a Harley more in one year, but it was not as pleasurable. Goldwings are pretty amazing machines, that do not need a wrench being turned on them all the time. My GL1800, in the ten years I have owned it, has not broken down even one time. I never had a Harley that did that. I do not give advice, so the choice is your own.

Welcome to GoldwingDocs.
It ain't about the destination - it's all about the journey

tamathumper
Motorcycle: 2003 GL1800A

Post by tamathumper »