Piston rings

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
Harryotransport
Motorcycle: 1982 gl 1100 naked with sidecar

Piston rings

Post by Harryotransport »

Hi folks my engine is free tho when I spray wd40 into chamber it disappears thru time sealing behind piston so I need piston rings. Also I've seen gaskets kit for sale.what is the itemized list of gaskets il need to complete task of taking engine out and splitting engine to replace piston rings..thanks folks..as I need help as I'm a bus driver. Not mechanic ......sorry 1985 gl1200 a aspencade

tamathumper
Motorcycle: 2003 GL1800A

Re: Piston rings

Post by tamathumper »

Pretty sure any liquid you put in the cylinder will work its way past the rings over time. How much liquid, and how long, are we talking?

I wouldn't do a job that involved until I did a compression test, ran some Seafoam through the gas to see if they're just stuck, and did another compression test after.

Unless you know they're bad from some other test or piece of information.
'03 GL1800A - Warning: fopen() [function.fopen]: failed to open stream: Sense of humor not found on line 2
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Post by WingAdmin »

Correct. Piston rings have a gap, and they are designed to seal under combustion pressure. An engine at rest will allow any liquid to drain into the crankcase, especially solvents like WD-40.
Harryotransport
Motorcycle: 1982 gl 1100 naked with sidecar

Post by Harryotransport »

When bike on side stand put wd40 into both right hand cylinders and wd40 disappears from the front cylinder
nwkwinger
Motorcycle: 1982 GL1100 Aspencade

Post by nwkwinger »

It sounds to me like you're almost convinced that you need new rings. Before you start buying parts for this project, do a compression check first.
Rednaxs60
Motorcycle: 1985 GL1200 LTD
1995 GL1500 SE CDN Edition