I'm a newbie on motorcycles and Gl1000 is my first bike

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
wgatesh
Motorcycle: 1976 gl1000

I'm a newbie on motorcycles and Gl1000 is my first bike

Post by wgatesh »

Hello Friends. I'm new to the world of motorcycles and newer to this forum.

It was a dream I had for long, and it came true. I purchased a 76 wing, which I'm fixing right now. Once its done I'll learn to ride.

I'm here asking for advice on driving and taking care of this old' and precious bikes, personally these are the one I like the most.

Thanks!

Solo So Long
Motorcycle: 1989 GL1500
1983 GW Interstate (ready to repair)
A pack of Super Cubs
Formerly (in order):
Honda Super Cub (bought 1968, sold ?)
Kawasaki Coyote (early 1970s)
Honda 350 (mid 1970s)
Kawasaki KZ900-PS (1977)
Honda Super Cubs (various years)
Kawasaki KZ1000C (1978)
Kawasaki KZ1000P (various years, 1980 - 2005)
Honda 360 (1983)
BMW R1150RT-P (2001)
BMW R1200RT-P (various years 2007 - 2018, NEVER AGAIN)

Re: I'm a newbie on motorcycles and Gl1000 is my first bike

Post by Solo So Long »

First, DO NOT attempt to learn to ride on a Goldwing.

Second, REALLY do not attempt to learn to ride on a Goldwing.

I got my first motorcycle in 1968, when I was just a kid. I didn't start riding outside the neighborhood until I was 18 or so. Starting in my 20s, I spent decades averaging about 30 hours each week actually in the saddle, sometimes a block at a time and sometimes 100 miles or more without putting my boot on the ground. All of this is to tell you that I have some experience in the field. PLEASE pay attention.

The Goldwing is a great bike. The one you're rebuilding will be a great bike for many years -- or you will wreck it, rapidly. The choice is yours, and all but foreordained. Ride it before you're ready, and you WILL wreck it. It may KILL YOU in the process.