roadside breakdown warning

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
scottydaum
Motorcycle: 1988 1500 Goldwing and 1985 1100 Shadow

roadside breakdown warning

Post by scottydaum »

This is just a heads up in case some folks have not thought about it.
So it's 3am, just about the coldest night of the year on I-85 North of Charlotte NC. Also just about the darkest stretch on the whole road.
I am on my way back from Atlanta GA and the generator fails. The battery finally gives up, and I am stuck on the side of the road, cold, and in a very dark place.
NO PROBLEMO I had the foresight to get the good AAA Roadside assistance coverage that will come get my extra large self, and my 1988 1500 Goldwing.
So I call AAA, give the the mile marker I am near. I am a Truck Driver so I am always more or less conscious of what Mile Marker I am at. The nice lady Says the truck will be there in an hour, AND I remind her I will need a ROOLBACK, and not regular Wrecker truck because I am on a extra large motorcycle. I am pretty sure I have covered all the bases, nothing to do but wait and try to be visible.
The nice Wrecker Driver arrives in a very new, modern, and clean flatbed just like I hoped for.
We then find out the nice man, who was very experienced, had never loaded a motorcycle that was not a crumpled, twisted mess he could just drag onto the truck and go.
I explained how to hook the cable to a spot that would not damage the bike in order to winch the Big Banana (it's VERY yellow), and we then find out he only has CHAINS for hooking things!!!!
I did some extra clothes out of the bags to wrap the areas where the chains go, and I end up walking WITH the bike as he winches the bike forward and up onto the tilted flatbed. That is a little awkward but it works.
THEN, we find out that he has NOTHING on his very pretty Rollback truck to secure the Big Banana to the truck!!!!!!!!