First long trip necessities?

Anything goes - doesn't fit any other category!
Northern wing
Motorcycle: 1983 Goldwing Interstate

First long trip necessities?

Post by Northern wing »

Hey folks. I'm planning my first long trip on my 1983 Wing and just wondering what seasoned veterans would suggest as necessities to take or have along for the ride. This has been a dream of mine since high school in the mid eighties. Took over 30yrs to get my dream bike and since I've had it, I've only done some short day trips. Is there any must haves for a 2 week long trip of a couple thousand km's? Bike is ready to go, just myself and gear that I would like ideas on. Thanks

blupupher
Motorcycle: 1994 GL1500 SE

Re: First long trip necessities?

Post by blupupher »

Congrats. While I am by no means an expert, I always have a flat repair kit, air compressor, extra oil, basic tool set, a few bottles of water (used for drinking, cleaning, or even for radiator), zip ties, electrical tape, duct tape, extra fuses, and a basic first aid kit (mostly stuff for me like ibuprophen, eye drops, and bandaids).
I know wingadmin has a video of what he always carries on his bike.
edit:

Never miss a video: Subscribe to the GoldwingDocs YouTube channel today!
1994 GL1500 Goldwing SE
tamathumper
Motorcycle: 2003 GL1800A

Post by tamathumper »

I have a small tool bag with a lot of stuff crammed in it, the most important of which has turned out to be hex head wrenches, duct tape, and zip ties, along with a Leatherman tool and a tire plug kit, most of which was to fix Harleys on the side of the road. Spare fuses, which didn't help, but I used a lot of, and a lithium jump pack. A half cover, a siphon kit just in case I run out of gas, a first aid kit, and a Slime brand tire pump. Soft ties just in case the bike has to be towed, and a few bungie cords and Rok-Straps. Last but not least, an assortment of credit cards.