GPS to Intercom on GL1500


Technical information and Q&A applicable to all years and models of Goldwings
  • Sponsored Links
User avatar
m2102
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 7:02 pm
Location: pontiac,illinois
Motorcycle: new to me 1800 wing

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by m2102 » Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:03 pm



thanks wingadmin that puts some lite on half my goal. the conector i want to plug into has 3 wires to it,one red theother two are ,looks like black. one a flat color and the other looks to be shiny. i wuld guess that the red would be groun and the other two are left and right. would you happen to know what the color of thewires in stereo plug are? i'm not trying to take away from the unit sold in the store,i have heard nothing but good on it. i don't have a lot of room under the pockets for much else and trying to save couple dollars. if i can't find a solution the one on the store would be my first choice



saxnwings
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 7:52 am
Location: Barrie Ontario
Motorcycle: 2004 GL1800

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by saxnwings » Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:06 pm

I had a Streetpilot 1310 which had a 2.5 mm jack. I went to Radio Shack and got a cable with a 2.5 mm male end and a 3.5 mm female end. It seemed to be a stock item and was pretty cheap to buy.

User avatar
m2102
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 7:02 pm
Location: pontiac,illinois
Motorcycle: new to me 1800 wing

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by m2102 » Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:19 pm

i'm going to try a different electronics store,best buy or bigger radio shack.i was refered to a guy from diana at direct line electrics and he saw what i have and said it is doable.the end i need is available from a like knowlageable tech. so for now the search continues

User avatar
tricycle
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 8:40 pm
Location: Springfield, MO
Motorcycle: 2002 GL1800 Trike w/MotorTrike conversion
Contact:

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by tricycle » Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:37 pm

WingAdmin wrote:2.5mm, 3.5mm and 1/4" plugs all work the same way:
300px-Jack_plug.png
In mono (TS) plugs, the sleeve (1) is ground, and the tip (3) is signal.

In stereo (TRS) plugs, the sleeve (1) is ground, the ring (2) is the right channel signal, and the tip (3) is the left channel signal.

There are also TRRS plugs that have four conductors, where one of them is used for microphone input (i.e. cell phone headphones).
Thanks for the pictures and info. I was wondering how the setup was on those connectors
Keith Owens "TriCycle"
417-894-0439
Christian Motorcyclists Association
http://cmascr4.org/MO/OZARKCHRISTIANRIDERS
Together in Christ

User avatar
nsjoe
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:25 pm
Location: Wickliffe, Ohio
Motorcycle: 2002 GL1800A

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by nsjoe » Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:33 pm

m2102 wrote:they don't make them ant more but i bought a garmin street pilot c550 for 43$ on ebay.it works like new and has a 3.5 mm out audio. the interface i have has a plug in.2.5 mm female, that goes thru my head set. i have been having trouble finding the female end to plug in . also was told that could be hard to find one already made up.was also told that if i can't find one i could take a cord with the 3.5 mm on it,cut it and splice it in.unless the wires were same color coded as one to the other,don't no how comfortable i would be doing it.the c50 does work thru my blutooth phone but at hiway speeds can only hear the ding when a turn or the end location is coming up.my interface is a j&m cfrg-390c. if i could get a diagram of it and the color code for the male end i would considr it
Are either of these the adapter that you need?

Stereo
http://www.monoprice.com/products/produ ... 1&format=2

Mono
http://www.monoprice.com/products/produ ... 1&format=2
Joe
Darksider #493

User avatar
frostypop
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 8:54 pm
Location: Meade, Kansas
Motorcycle: Now 2001 GL1800 Goldwing, also I have owned these, 2006 GL1800 Goldwing, 1988 GL1500 Goldwing, 1982 GL1100, 1978 Suzuki 850

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by frostypop » Fri Sep 14, 2012 7:16 pm

have you checked with www.chromeworld.com or www.wingstuff.com for the cables you need? 8-)

User avatar
m2102
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 7:02 pm
Location: pontiac,illinois
Motorcycle: new to me 1800 wing

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by m2102 » Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:30 am

this is what i am going from

plugin on rie is 3.5mm
plugin on rie is 3.5mm

and hooking up to

its the white one i want to plug into
its the white one i want to plug into


User avatar
nsjoe
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:25 pm
Location: Wickliffe, Ohio
Motorcycle: 2002 GL1800A

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by nsjoe » Sat Sep 15, 2012 6:37 am

My apologies m2102. I completely misunderstood what you were looking for.
Joe
Darksider #493

User avatar
m2102
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 7:02 pm
Location: pontiac,illinois
Motorcycle: new to me 1800 wing

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by m2102 » Sat Sep 15, 2012 8:04 am

no need to apoligise nsjoe, i'm a little confused myself on what to do and where to look next.been trying to think of a electronics geek,no offence anyone,that could help with this.

saxnwings
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 7:52 am
Location: Barrie Ontario
Motorcycle: 2004 GL1800

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by saxnwings » Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:32 am

The white plug looks suspiciously like the white plug on the GL1800 under the left dash pocket. The 1800s came with a cable to go from that plug to a 3.5mm plug for connecting a MP3 player. While the Honda cable is short ann extension might get you to your GPS unit. Check with a Honda dealer or a friend with a GL1800 to see if the cable fits. Hope that helps.

User avatar
m2102
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 7:02 pm
Location: pontiac,illinois
Motorcycle: new to me 1800 wing

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by m2102 » Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:56 am

thanks saxnwings,their mite be lite at end of tunnel. i will check with an 1800 rider i no and see if he has one. mite sting but will check with dealer also.

User avatar
nsjoe
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:25 pm
Location: Wickliffe, Ohio
Motorcycle: 2002 GL1800A

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by nsjoe » Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:38 pm

This is the piece that he is referring to:

http://cyclemax.com/inc/sdetail/120/30352
Joe
Darksider #493

User avatar
tricycle
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 8:40 pm
Location: Springfield, MO
Motorcycle: 2002 GL1800 Trike w/MotorTrike conversion
Contact:

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by tricycle » Sun Sep 16, 2012 4:07 pm

nsjoe wrote:This is the piece that he is referring to:

http://cyclemax.com/inc/sdetail/120/30352
It is a short wire but you can buy a male to female extension to make it longer to work on the handle bar of the bike. I found some at Walmart, I think it was a 3 ft extension.
Keith Owens "TriCycle"
417-894-0439
Christian Motorcyclists Association
http://cmascr4.org/MO/OZARKCHRISTIANRIDERS
Together in Christ

User avatar
m2102
Posts: 343
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 7:02 pm
Location: pontiac,illinois
Motorcycle: new to me 1800 wing

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by m2102 » Sun Sep 16, 2012 4:48 pm

Nsjoe, I do believe that is it. Looks like a perfect fit. I mite them and check for sure before I com
It to buying. But it sure looks like it will fit , thanks for your persistence on my hunt

User avatar
yamaha96
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:43 am
Location: clifton forge,virginia
Motorcycle: 1989 GL1500se aspencade, 1996 1300 yamaha royalstar

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by yamaha96 » Thu Sep 27, 2012 6:33 am

i recently purchased a GPS Intercom unit for my 1989 Goldwing, i installed the unit on my bike like the instructions said, have a Tom Tom one , N14644 3 inch edition 1 GB , i had to buy a adapter ,for my unit from Radio Shack because it had only a one eight out put , but when you plug the cord in to my Tom Tom the screen goes out, anyone have a idea what is going on, if not guess i will have to buy another GPS that is compatible, thanks for you help, Mike.

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 19637
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by WingAdmin » Thu Sep 27, 2012 8:46 am

yamaha96 wrote:i recently purchased a GPS Intercom unit for my 1989 Goldwing, i installed the unit on my bike like the instructions said, have a Tom Tom one , N14644 3 inch edition 1 GB , i had to buy a adapter ,for my unit from Radio Shack because it had only a one eight out put , but when you plug the cord in to my Tom Tom the screen goes out, anyone have a idea what is going on, if not guess i will have to buy another GPS that is compatible, thanks for you help, Mike.
That definitely sounds odd - what happens if you plug just a regular set of headphones (i.e. for an MP3 player or cell phone) into the TomTom?

User avatar
yamaha96
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:43 am
Location: clifton forge,virginia
Motorcycle: 1989 GL1500se aspencade, 1996 1300 yamaha royalstar

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by yamaha96 » Thu Sep 27, 2012 10:25 am

have not tried that yet, will do that this evening after work, thanks for the suggestion, Mike

User avatar
yamaha96
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:43 am
Location: clifton forge,virginia
Motorcycle: 1989 GL1500se aspencade, 1996 1300 yamaha royalstar

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by yamaha96 » Fri Sep 28, 2012 5:48 am

i tried my ear phones with my Tom Tom, and the screen when out , must be something wrong with the audio outlet, plugged my MP3 player in to the cord from the GPS to Intercom unit and worked fine, so i guess i need to find a compatible GPS, thanks for your help trouble shooting , really enjoy this Web page, lots of good useable material, Mike.

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 19637
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by WingAdmin » Fri Sep 28, 2012 10:05 am

yamaha96 wrote:i tried my ear phones with my Tom Tom, and the screen when out , must be something wrong with the audio outlet, plugged my MP3 player in to the cord from the GPS to Intercom unit and worked fine, so i guess i need to find a compatible GPS, thanks for your help trouble shooting , really enjoy this Web page, lots of good useable material, Mike.
Make sure your TomTom is configured to use the audio out - I know that my TomTom won't send any audio out to that jack unless you configure it in the settings to do so.

User avatar
yamaha96
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:43 am
Location: clifton forge,virginia
Motorcycle: 1989 GL1500se aspencade, 1996 1300 yamaha royalstar

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by yamaha96 » Fri Sep 28, 2012 11:26 am

how do you do that, is there a program in the menu for this, i have no book, this GPS came with my bike , thanks Mike.

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 19637
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by WingAdmin » Fri Sep 28, 2012 11:30 am

yamaha96 wrote:how do you do that, is there a program in the menu for this, i have no book, this GPS came with my bike , thanks Mike.
On mine, you touch the screen, select Preferences, then scroll through the screens until you see Speaker Preferences, select that, then select "Line Out (audio cable)" instead of "Internal Speaker".

User avatar
yamaha96
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:43 am
Location: clifton forge,virginia
Motorcycle: 1989 GL1500se aspencade, 1996 1300 yamaha royalstar

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by yamaha96 » Thu Oct 04, 2012 11:38 am

Just wanted to say thanks for your help, with my GPS problem, i ended up buying a Sylvania unit model # SGPD432 , IT HAS A 3.5MM AUDIO OUT , bought from Kmart, tried with my bike helmet , works fine, just have to replace the cradle for my Ram mount, thanks again, your VA. friend, Mike.

User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 19637
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by WingAdmin » Thu Oct 04, 2012 12:00 pm

yamaha96 wrote:Just wanted to say thanks for your help, with my GPS problem, i ended up buying a Sylvania unit model # SGPD432 , IT HAS A 3.5MM AUDIO OUT , bought from Kmart, tried with my bike helmet , works fine, just have to replace the cradle for my Ram mount, thanks again, your VA. friend, Mike.
Glad to hear it!

globalfx
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 1:58 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Motorcycle: 2007 GL1800P

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by globalfx » Thu Nov 01, 2012 2:20 pm

HTC Inspire cellphone to Intercom. Works great...put the phone in the fairing pocket where I plug a charger into my aux plug for the phone, and the audio line into the phone for the Intercom, and it charges the hone and talks me to my destination.
I leave the door open when it's charging because of the heat build up, but unless its raining, that's never been a problem.
When I can afford a GPS, I'll hook the audio into that.

User avatar
Dusty Boots
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: Alvinston, SW ON
Motorcycle: 1992 GL1500 Aspencade
2013 Victory Cross Country Tour

Re: GPS to Intercom on GL1500

Post by Dusty Boots » Thu Nov 01, 2012 3:16 pm

I've been using this unit successfully for the past 2 years with my Garmin Nuvi 765T on my 92 Aspencade

Since I've been using this combination with my headset, I would feel totally naked without them!

Keep these innovative products coming, Scott! 8-)



Post Reply