Trailer weight Demo.

Information, ideas, experiences and help with camping, pulling a trailer and roughing it on your Goldwing
littlebeaver
Motorcycle: 1981 gl 1100 I , 79 Yamaha XS11
Special, 82 Kawa 750 CSR, 82 Kawa 750 LTD, 03 Kawa Nomad 1500, 99 Kawa Voyager 1200

Trailer weight Demo.

Post by littlebeaver »

I found this on the facebooks and thought many of you fella's would like it.... Just scroll down until you see the video ready to play....
:lol: http://legendarycarsmag.com/simple-demo ... oad-front/

Never miss a video: Subscribe to the GoldwingDocs YouTube channel today!

harvey01
Motorcycle: 2004 GL1800

Re: Trailer weight Demo.

Post by harvey01 »

That is a very interesting video and will certainly make you think.

Not being an engineer I suspect there is more involved in the dynamics of what is happening than just weight. It seems that too much weight in the front of the trailer can also raise the front end of the bike. Not a great situation.

I suspect the location of the trailer axle also plays a big part in the handling of the trailer as well as the way it is loaded. And probably the length of the tongue relative to the location of the wheels as well as the weight.
harvey
Ride Safe and Ride Often
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (sold)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2012 Suzuki Burgman 400 (wife's!)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Post by WingAdmin »

harvey01 wrote:That is a very interesting video and will certainly make you think.

Not being an engineer I suspect there is more involved in the dynamics of what is happening than just weight. It seems that too much weight in the front of the trailer can also raise the front end of the bike. Not a great situation.

I suspect the location of the trailer axle also plays a big part in the handling of the trailer as well as the way it is loaded. And probably the length of the tongue relative to the location of the wheels as well as the weight.