throttle by wire


Information and questions on GL1800 Goldwings (2018+)
  • Sponsored Links
Post Reply
doxbike
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:17 am
Location: laguna beach,ca
Motorcycle: 2018 gl1800bd

throttle by wire

Post by doxbike » Mon May 28, 2018 2:55 pm



found a second thing about the 2018 that I don't like-1st is the nav system; 2nd is the throttle grip. The throttle by wire works fine, but the forward, backward, up and down excessive play is driving me batty! The rotational free play is fine, but when you push, pull, lift or press on the grip when you're countersteering, or even accelerating, is annoying as hell. I could put an o-ring between the perch and the grip to solve it, a de facto poor man's cruise control, but I don't want to do that. Will you guys with a 2018 check yours to see you have the same. If not, maybe I'm missing a bushing in there.
TIA



User avatar
WingAdmin
Site Admin
Posts: 19314
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 4:16 pm
Location: Strongsville, OH
Motorcycle: 2000 GL1500 SE
1982 GL1100A Aspencade (sold)
1989 PC800 (wife's!)
1998 XV250 Virago (sold)
2007 Aspen Sentry Trailer

Re: throttle by wire

Post by WingAdmin » Wed May 30, 2018 8:16 am

doxbike wrote:
Mon May 28, 2018 2:55 pm
found a second thing about the 2018 that I don't like-1st is the nav system; 2nd is the throttle grip. The throttle by wire works fine, but the forward, backward, up and down excessive play is driving me batty! The rotational free play is fine, but when you push, pull, lift or press on the grip when you're countersteering, or even accelerating, is annoying as hell. I could put an o-ring between the perch and the grip to solve it, a de facto poor man's cruise control, but I don't want to do that. Will you guys with a 2018 check yours to see you have the same. If not, maybe I'm missing a bushing in there.
TIA
I don't see why any free play of any kind would be fine? On a mechanical throttle, some free play is required, otherwise you'll bind up the cables. But on a throttle by wire, it's just connected to a potentiometer or position sensor, and there is no free play required (or desired).

What are others seeing?

doxbike
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:17 am
Location: laguna beach,ca
Motorcycle: 2018 gl1800bd

Re: throttle by wire

Post by doxbike » Wed May 30, 2018 6:13 pm

So, I went to the dealer and checked out 6 different wings-all had about the same amount of play. When I talked to service manager and head mechanic and showed them the issue, they were astounded nobody else had pointed that out. They were immediately on the phone to the area rep asking him to get in touch with Japan about a fix, as they thought it was totally BS that this bike had this kind of a problem. We'll see?

Post Reply